Author |
Message
|
deepak.gowder |
Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 10:35 am Post subject: Runs fine when step-by-step thru Debug but error otherwise |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 19 Sep 2012 Posts: 20
|
I am seeing this again, when I run the flow in Debug and go through step-by-step the msgflow works fine, esp. step through the line -
Code: |
CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputRoot DOMAIN('DFDL')
PARSE(InputRoot.BLOB.BLOB ENCODING inEncoding CCSID inCCSID SET '' TYPE cMsgTyp OPTIONS RootBitStream);
|
But it throws DFDL error when not in Debug mode. And this is not the case all the time. This happens occasionally. Happens in my teammate's machine as well. This doesn't happen to the similar msgflows, but just this one.
Broker 8.0.0.4.
Anyone else encountered this or similar?
Thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 11:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
What error do you get? ( full text of the error please, if possible )
Is it always the same error on both machines? _________________ Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 11:07 am Post subject: Re: Runs fine when step-by-step thru Debug but error otherwi |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
deepak.gowder wrote: |
Anyone else encountered this or similar? |
Yes. Using the debugger changes the way the flow operates, specifically when & how the message tree is parsed. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 11:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
Quote: |
Using the debugger changes the way the flow operates, specifically when & how the message tree is parsed. |
Hmmm. That used to be true, but it has not been true for several versions now. When the debugger displays the message tree contents it operates on a completely separate copy of the message assembly, thus ensuring that the 'real' message is not parsed any earlier than it would have been.
Which is good news for almost everybody who uses the message flow debugger, but I admit that it does not help this user very much. _________________ Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deepak.gowder |
Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 12:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 19 Sep 2012 Posts: 20
|
kimbert wrote: |
What error do you get? ( full text of the error please, if possible )
Is it always the same error on both machines? |
Well, it throws a parsing error in one of the elements
Quote: |
An error occurred whilst parsing with DFDL, CTDP3053E: Zoned text to number conversion error for element |
We get the same error message/ structure from the called application for other similar msgflows. Only this one fails.
BUT, I just found that element has zeros in other flows (where it works), but for this flow it is blanks. It is a PIC9-Display-Zoned_int derived from Copybook with minOccurs 1.
I will confirm this once I change the input msg to have zeros rather than blanks and check.
It's strange that it works when I debug it step-by-step though. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
OK - so the situation in the other flows is not the same. The DFDL model is the same, but the input data is different.
Quote: |
It's strange that it works when I debug it step-by-step though. |
Yes, that is strange. However, if you have been reading this forum for a while then you will have seen the standard advice for diagnosing message flow issues:
- use the debugger for initial diagnosis
- change to use Trace nodes and User Trace as soon as the debugger stops delivering the goods.
That advice is especially true when the problem relates to parsing or writing of a data format. _________________ Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
deepak.gowder |
Posted: Tue Apr 14, 2015 7:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 19 Sep 2012 Posts: 20
|
kimbert wrote: |
OK - so the situation in the other flows is not the same. The DFDL model is the same, but the input data is different.
Quote: |
It's strange that it works when I debug it step-by-step though. |
Yes, that is strange. However, if you have been reading this forum for a while then you will have seen the standard advice for diagnosing message flow issues:
- use the debugger for initial diagnosis
- change to use Trace nodes and User Trace as soon as the debugger stops delivering the goods.
That advice is especially true when the problem relates to parsing or writing of a data format. |
Point taken. Thank you for the advice!
Cheers! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|