Author |
Message
|
ferquirino |
Posted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:52 am Post subject: How stop MQ input? |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 05 May 2008 Posts: 34 Location: São Paulo, Brazil
|
Hi,
Message Broker V7.
MQ Input -> Compute -> File output
I put purposely a directory that does not exist.
The error occurs, but the message is lost. Transactional option is to "Yes".
What do I need to configure it stops reading the queue after the error and do not miss the message read?
If there is another topic on the subject, please show me.
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
talalanwar |
Posted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 9:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 Posts: 7
|
If you have configured a Backout Queue for this Input queue your message will not be lost.
If you want the message to be put in the same queue after the error and your flow stops reading the messages. The only option is to inhibit the MQ Get on that queue. You can do that using java within your flow by utlizing com.ibm.mq.jar. After the Error Inhibit the MQ Get and put the message back into that queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 10:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Look on the system DLQ for your message. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 12:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
talalanwar wrote: |
If you have configured a Backout Queue for this Input queue your message will not be lost.
If you want the message to be put in the same queue after the error and your flow stops reading the messages. The only option is to inhibit the MQ Get on that queue. You can do that using java within your flow by utlizing com.ibm.mq.jar. After the Error Inhibit the MQ Get and put the message back into that queue. |
This complicates the whole thing. How do you GET(ENABLE) the queue again?
This will probably require manual intervention. Unless you have defined the procedures your SysAdmin have to followi in this case then you might s well lookout for a Flock of Flying Sheep flying over the Grand Canyon.
You will also have to design into your error handling a method of alerting your sysAdmins to the condition unless you have some other monitoring solution in place.
Then, you have to decide if you want this process to happen to ALL possible failures. What if the target system disk is Full?
IMHO trying to programmatically handle all these possible conditions (and also test them properly) is very time consuming and can be a total easte of time.
Therefore it might be simple to define a BOQ for the flow and let the messages go there and properly record the reasons in your error logs. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
talalanwar |
Posted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 12:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 Posts: 7
|
Quote: |
What do I need to configure it stops reading the queue after the error and do not miss the message read? |
I don't know the reason but he wants to stop reading messages after the error occurs. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
talalanwar wrote: |
Quote: |
What do I need to configure it stops reading the queue after the error and do not miss the message read? |
I don't know the reason but he wants to stop reading messages after the error occurs. |
Think message affinity. Always a bad thing. Avoid if possible.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|