Author |
Message
|
ashfaqueansari |
Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:37 am Post subject: Message processing from specific QMGR in cluster environment |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 31 Dec 2013 Posts: 5
|
Hi,
Could any one help me in this regard that i would like to process some of my message from an specific queue only, in cluster environment. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Would you please elaborate on your requirement? For example, do you want only one queue in the cluster but multiple, remote, application instances to get messages from that queue? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 3:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
You can only consume message from a queue hosted by the queue manager you are connected to.
So if QM1, QM2 and QM3 are in a MQ cluster, and instances of QueueA exist on QM1, QM2 and QM3, and you want to get a particulr message from QueueA on QM3, your application must connect to QM3, open QueueA using the connection handle you established when you connected to QM3, then do your MQGET.
If QM1, QM2 and QM3 are queue managers on z/OS in a Queue Sharing Group, and QueueA is a Shared Queue, then the app connected to QM1, QM2 or QM3 can issue MQGETs against QueueA. It doesn't matter if QueueA is also in an MQ cluster. This Shared Queue concept only applies to queue managers on the mainframe (z/OS), and only if they and the queue have been set up in a queue sharing group. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ashfaqueansari |
Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 31 Dec 2013 Posts: 5
|
Thanks for revert,
I just want to reiterate my problem description as below.
for example i am having three qmgr QM1, QM2, and QM3 which are in cluster. there is local queue instance like LocalqA is availbale with all QMGR as it is in cluster. now i want a message which is coming from Xlocation shoud be processed by QM1 only but by QM2 or QM3.
to achive this what need to configure can any one suggest pleas. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 7:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
ashfaqueansari wrote: |
Thanks for revert,
I just want to reiterate my problem description as below.
for example i am having three qmgr QM1, QM2, and QM3 which are in cluster. there is local queue instance like LocalqA is availbale with all QMGR as it is in cluster. now i want a message which is coming from Xlocation shoud be processed by QM1 only but by QM2 or QM3.
to achive this what need to configure can any one suggest pleas. |
If I understand you correctly, you have:
QM1: LocalqA
QM2: LocalqA
QM3: LocalqA
And you want only QM1 to receive all messages?
If so, remove the LocalqA instances from QM2 and QM3. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ashfaqueansari |
Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 10:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 31 Dec 2013 Posts: 5
|
Yes, correct but i would like to add more point to elaborate as below,
localqA instances are getting message from three different application( X,Y,Z) and these messages are getting processed as load balance policy.
Now my question is when application X put message into LocalqA instance then it shoud be processed by QM1 only.
to achive this what need to configure at message property level or elsewhere, please suggest |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2014 4:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
ashfaqueansari wrote: |
Yes, correct but i would like to add more point to elaborate as below,
localqA instances are getting message from three different application( X,Y,Z) and these messages are getting processed as load balance policy.
Now my question is when application X put message into LocalqA instance then it shoud be processed by QM1 only.
to achive this what need to configure at message property level or elsewhere, please suggest |
There are only two sure ways to ensure that only LocalqA in QM1 gets all the messages:
1. There must be only instance of the queue in the cluster, on QM1 only;
2. The applications must specify QM1 on opening the queue, thereby creating an affinity with that queue manager.
You could play around with the CLWLPRTY attributes of the queues and channels, and other cluster-related attributes, but you may still find messages going 'astray' to other instances of the queue.
What is the business/technical requirement for this? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
exerk wrote: |
There are only two sure ways to ensure that only LocalqA in QM1 gets all the messages:
1. There must be only instance of the queue in the cluster, on QM1 only;
2. The applications must specify QM1 on opening the queue, thereby creating an affinity with that queue manager.
|
3. Put Inhibit the other instances of the queue in the cluster. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
exerk wrote: |
There are only two sure ways to ensure that only LocalqA in QM1 gets all the messages:
1. There must be only instance of the queue in the cluster, on QM1 only;
2. The applications must specify QM1 on opening the queue, thereby creating an affinity with that queue manager.
|
3. Put Inhibit the other instances of the queue in the cluster. |
And that one!  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|