Author |
Message
|
srikanthmq225 |
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:22 am Post subject: MQ API v7.5 |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Oct 2013 Posts: 21
|
Hi everyone,
we are recently migrated to MQ v7.5.0.2 from v6
could someone help me how to open MQ API calls window in v7.5.0.2
in v6, type amasapi in cmd prompt then it will open.
But v7.5.0.2 ?
Please someone help me how to open it v7.5.0.2 ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:12 am Post subject: Re: MQ API v7.5 |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
srikanthmq225 wrote: |
we are recently migrated to MQ v7.5.0.2 from v6
could someone help me how to open MQ API calls window in v7.5.0.2
in v6, type amasapi in cmd prompt then it will open.
But v7.5.0.2 ?
Please someone help me how to open it v7.5.0.2 ? |
Is that command documented in the WMQv7.5 InfoCenter? The v7.1? The v7.0? Or the v6.0 for that matter?
If it's not documented you shouldn't assume it's present. There are any number of commands and executables within WMQ which are not documented and used for internal purposes. You shouldn't rely on them. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srikanthmq225 |
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Oct 2013 Posts: 21
|
Thank you Vitor for your reply...
yeah its not documented..
But i want to test the put, get through MQI calls in v7.5..
How ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Use the provided, documented and supported samples, like amqsput, amqsget, amqsbcg, and their client-bound equivalents. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
srikanthmq225 wrote: |
Thank you Vitor for your reply...
yeah its not documented..
But i want to test the put, get through MQI calls in v7.5..
How ? |
Have you considered becoming an MQ programmer?
Have you considered learning the features of the MQ Explorer?
Have you considered some basic google searching?
All of these things are important skills for doing your job well and with respect and confidence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
srikanthmq225 wrote: |
But i want to test the put, get through MQI calls in v7.5.. |
Why? Do you think IBM have sold you an empty box instead of a queue manager?
Why not use some of the supplied tools and samples? What led you to this undocumented thing rather than those? What part of your requirement did this tool met that the supplied tools do not? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srikanthmq225 |
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Oct 2013 Posts: 21
|
I'm new to MQ.
In client side server, we installed MQ client v7.5 software. My doubt is how application can put the messages without MQI calls.
If MQI call is there, how he(Application) can open in client server side?
In MQ 7.5 installation path (C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\bin\ ), there is no amqapi file!!!
and in MQ Explorer, in 'Help' tab also there is no 'welcome' field...
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
srikanthmq225 wrote: |
I'm new to MQ. |
The WMQ API calls are like MQCONN, MQOPEN, MQPUT, and so on. These calls need to be imbedded into application program source code, compiled, and bound (linked) with either client-bindings or server-bindings, depending on whether the application will execute on an MQ client platform or MQ server platform.
srikanthmq225 wrote: |
In client side server, we installed MQ client v7.5 software. My doubt is how application can put the messages without MQI calls. |
It is possible that the application is using HTTP calls, and the MQ-HTTP bridge.
srikanthmq225 wrote: |
If MQI call is there, how he(Application) can open in client server side? |
Client-bindings applications ship MQI calls across the network to the WMQ server.
srikanthmq225 wrote: |
In MQ 7.5 installation path (C:\Program Files (x86)\IBM\WebSphere MQ\bin\ ), there is no amqapi file!!!
and in MQ Explorer, in 'Help' tab also there is no 'welcome' field...
 |
Read this: https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/community/blogs/aimsupport/entry/mq_api_exerciser?lang=en _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srikanthmq225 |
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 9:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Oct 2013 Posts: 21
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 5:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
srikanthmq225 wrote: |
... how users put and get using HTTP calls, what is MQ-HTTP bridge ?
 |
Go to Google. Type 'mq+http-bridge' in the search text box. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
srikanthmq225 wrote: |
and in MQ Explorer, in 'Help' tab also there is no 'welcome' field...
 |
I wonder if that Welcome tab / field was ever present in the eclipse version of the MQExplorer. If not then your MQExplorer is way past obsolete and more likely version 5.3.x.x ...
You will have a lot of catching up to do. Start by reading the documentation in the infocenter...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srikanthmq225 |
Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Oct 2013 Posts: 21
|
Thanks for your cooperation fjb_saper.
i have screen shots for MQ Explorer and it's version...
Is it possible to upload the images ?[/b] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PaulClarke |
Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 1002 Location: New Zealand
|
If you just want to play with the MQI, and see what they can do and how they work, then you can use the API Exerciser which is in MO71. It is free and fairly functionally rich. It can be downloaded here http://www.mqgem.com/mo71_download.html. It supports MQCONN, MQDISC, MQOPEN, MQCLOSE, MQPUT, MQPUT1, MQGET, MQCMIT, MQBACK, MQINQ, MQSUB, MQSTAT and MQSUBRQ. I am working on the MQCTL and MQCB verbs but, as you may appreciate, these are quite tricky.
Cheers,
Paul. _________________ Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
srikanthmq225 |
Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 1:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Oct 2013 Posts: 21
|
I'm using MQ version:7.5.0.2
and my IBM WebSphere MQ Explorer Version : 7.5.0.2
when i click Help tab in explorer, it shows..
Help Contents
Key Assist...
Check for updates
Install New Software...
About IBM Websphere MQ Explorer
In above options, i can't find 'welcome'..
then how can i open MQI call window ?
please help me...  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Look up the support packs. YOu may need to add an additional support pack  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|