Author |
Message
|
Boomn4x4 |
Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:08 am Post subject: MQ Ports |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 28 Nov 2011 Posts: 172
|
I am implementing a large network of mq servers in a cluster. I have the cluster sender channels setup to communicate on a specific port. Beside that port, are there any other ports that MQ communicates on that I may need to be monitoring for traffic? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
MQ will use as many ports as you configure listeners on. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Boomn4x4 |
Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 28 Nov 2011 Posts: 172
|
mqjeff wrote: |
MQ will use as many ports as you configure listeners on. |
And ONLY the ports I configure the listeners on? Just want to make sure I'm not missing anything. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:09 am Post subject: Re: MQ Ports |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Boomn4x4 wrote: |
I am implementing a large network of mq servers in a cluster. I have the cluster sender channels setup to communicate on a specific port. |
Any set up you did on the cluster senders is used only the first time that Queue Manager talks to the Full Repository. And if you issue REFRESH CLUSTER REPOS(YES). All other times the definitions of your cluster sender channel is irrelevant and not used.
If you do get the auto defined cluster senders to use one and only one outbound port, how will you insure nothing else on the O/S grabs that port? Because if you tell an outbound channel to use only one outbound port, and that port is tied up, that channel ain't startin'. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:11 pm Post subject: Re: MQ Ports |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Boomn4x4 wrote: |
...are there any other ports that MQ communicates on that I may need to be monitoring for traffic? |
Monitoring for what traffic? MQ traffic? If only MQ traffic, you need only start listeners for the ports you specify in channel definitions. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Esa |
Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2008 Posts: 1387 Location: Finland
|
Boomn4x4 wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
MQ will use as many ports as you configure listeners on. |
And ONLY the ports I configure the listeners on? Just want to make sure I'm not missing anything. |
No. As far as I know, the listener ports are only used for opening connections. The actual message traffic uses other ports that are allocated in runtime and presumably cannot be exactly predicted.
This is why channels don't work if you only open the listener port in the firewall and don't allow the connection to jump to using another port. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Esa wrote: |
No. As far as I know, the listener ports are only used for opening connections. The actual message traffic uses other ports that are allocated in runtime and presumably cannot be exactly predicted.
This is why channels don't work if you only open the listener port in the firewall and don't allow the connection to jump to using another port. |
This is correct (1st part) however you can predict the port range used post connection for clients but I'm not sure about SDR/RCVR channels.
As described here (search on channel port range)
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB/viewtopic.php?p=41370
Someone from Hursley may well need to answer that one.
Some bits of Cicso kit can be used as a firewall (when really they shouldn't). These don't handle the port handoff process so you have to open specific ports and tell MQ to use them specifically. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 3:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
A connection coming into the queue manager will use the port of the MQ Listener.
An outbound connection leaving the queue manager will choose a random* port, unless you restrict that by using the LOCLADDR attribute of the outbound channel.
*Its probably not purely random, I'm not sure exactly how its chosen, probably by the O/S, but unless you use LOCLADDR its going to be any port of potentially thousands. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 5:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
If you configure additional components of MQ, then other ports will be used - the HTTP bridge, the MQTT daemon, etc.
But MQ itself won't just randomly open up undocumented ports to receive incoming connections.
[/list] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|