|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Performance Question: splitting up a queue |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
dtauzell |
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 10:27 am Post subject: Performance Question: splitting up a queue |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 23 May 2002 Posts: 37
|
Our application uses several queues. One of them, however, gets a large percentage of messages. Puts and Gets to/from that queue are much slower than to the queues that get lots of messages.
My question is if you think that splitting up that queue somehow could help performance.
Is performace of puts/gets more dependant on the number of messages going to MQSeries, or to a particular queue? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqonnet |
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 10:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Feb 2002 Posts: 1114 Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.
|
Each and every object is a separate entity for a Queue manager and hence when you overuse one as opposed to other, QM needs to do more work towards that queue than any other. Because your app is asking lot to be done on this particular queue than any other.
Your question may not have a direct answer to it, but shall give you one.
Any resource that MQ handles as with any software has a threshold. And it depends on various factors including the memory, cpu, hdd etc. In your case, say if you are putting and getting 100,000 messages onto queue Q1 and only 10,000 on the rest of 10 queues you have. Obviously the performance of the other 10 queues be better compared to Q1. Now you simultaneously increase the numbers to say 1Mil on each queue. MQ now has to do lot of work as opposed to before.
Hence the more you stress a particular object or mq as a whole, the response would be according to that only.
Not sure how much of help was this, But....!!!
Cheers
Kumar |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 4:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Well message size may come into play, if you are using non-persistant messages, they are held in a 64kb(default) buffer in ram and once that is full they are written to disk so that will slow you down some if you dont have speedy disk.
The 64kb can be increased, this depends on platform as to how to doit _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|