Author |
Message
|
Sam99 |
Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:40 am Post subject: HTTP Request Node Issue |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 Posts: 43
|
MB v6.1.0.9
Scenario - Calling an external webservice
HTTP Input - > Compute -> HTTP Request -> Compute -> HTTP Reply
Property :
Time Out : 30 secs
Http Version : v1.0
Issue : We have observed that after sometime we are not able to establish http connection with the provider. If we call the same url from another aix box, it works fine.
If we reload the execution group then again it starts working but after sometime the issue appears again. There are multiple consumers consuming this service but the volumes are not very high.
While reading online I found this,
The HTTP protocol was designed to be simple, fast, extensible, and compatible with previous versions. Although data retrieval using HTTP is efficient, the way connections are handled between client and server is not efficient where there are multiple requests for data. A new connection is required for each request/response pair, imposing a significant overhead on communications. To overcome this problem, HTPP 1.0 or later supports persistent connections between client and server, with multiple request/response pairs sent via the same connection. This function is available via the connection: keep-alive header and became the default in HTTP 1.1, with the client and server required to explicitly close the connection using the connection: close header. Persistent connection is very useful in some situations, such as when trying to repeatedly invoke a service, as a new socket no longer needs to be created for each request, dramatically improving performance.
Can this resolve the issue we are facing ?
Request your help please.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
What happens if you change it to V1.1? _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sam99 |
Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 5:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 Posts: 43
|
Havent tried yet, as this is happening in user acceptance region, we are limited with respect to number of deployments. So I want to be sure before we deploy the change there. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sam99 |
Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 Posts: 43
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Sam99 wrote: |
Help Required.. Please.. |
If you havn't tried our suggestion, how do you know it's not helped?
If you need urgent help, raise a PMR. We're not staffed to be a help desk, we're just a bunch of guys.
Seriously. You're paying IBM a lot of money; use the support that comes with it. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sam99 |
Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 Posts: 43
|
Apologies for marking it as urgent.
I am already aware of the changes mentioned by smdavies99. It's just that I wanted a better view if people have already faced a similar issue. They can guide me in the right direction.
I can definetly try this (v1.1), the only issue I have is that we cannot have many deployments in UAT region.
Is their any other suggestion which I can try before promoting this change ?
Many Thanks for all your help and advice. Much Appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The proper direction to be guided on this is to troubleshoot the actual problem.
You've reported nothing here that indicates that HTTP 1.0 or 1.1 has anything to do with the issue, other than that you're aware of situations where it might cause a problem for some system that has nothing to do with the systems you're actually working with.
If you want or require guidance on how to perform troubleshooting, then you should be taking advantage of the guidance you have already been given here - to whit, OPEN A PMR AND GET PAID HELP. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sam99 |
Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 2:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 Posts: 43
|
I have done some more investigation and found some starnge issues,
My service starts with HTTP Input node and is configured as below,
Message Domain : XMLNSC
Parse Timing : Immediate
Everything works fine till we fire XML messages and HTTP headers which reaches provider looks like this
POST /eWebService/TestAdapter HTTP/1.0
Content-Length: 2179
Content-Type: text/xml;charset=UTF-8Accept-Encoding: gzip,deflate
SOAPAction: "urn:DocService"
User-Agent: Jakarta Commons-HttpClient/3.1
Host: xx.xx.xx.xxx:8080
But if we fire a MIME message to that service then all the proper requests after that starts failing as somehow http headers of that MIME request are getting retained for all the future requets
POST /eWebService/TestAdapter HTTP/1.0
Content-Length: 2179
Content-Type: multipart/related; type="text/xml";boundary="uuid:028234c4-0ad4-423c-9341-31420cf8a5fe+id=1"
gzip,deflate
SOAPAction: "urn:DocService"
User-Agent: Jakarta Commons-HttpClient/3.1
Host: xx.xx.xx.xxx:8080
When I set the settings as below then this problem is not happening,
Message Domain : XMLNSC
Parse Timing : On Demand
Any suggestions ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Whenever I have strange problems, I debug them. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sam99 |
Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 4:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 Posts: 43
|
When I am using DEGUG mode in toolkit, it is working fine in local machine but when I am firing in without DEBUG it is failing.
HTTP headers are being retained somewhere which is causing this issue as when I reload the execution group it starts working. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Esa |
Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 4:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2008 Posts: 1387 Location: Finland
|
Try running user trace. If it doesn't help, raise a PMR to get instructions how to run a service trace.
By the way, is the MIME mesage you send a valid one? I mean does it have a correct number of boundaries, for example? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Esa |
Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 4:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2008 Posts: 1387 Location: Finland
|
If I have understood correctly, this is an HTTP Input node issue, not an HTTP Request node issue?
Are you using execution group or broker level HTTP listener? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sam99 |
Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 4:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 Posts: 43
|
Yes, the MIME message is a valid one. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sam99 |
Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2012 Posts: 43
|
We are using broker level HTTP Listener. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|