Author |
Message
|
geewee |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:41 am Post subject: MQGet, configurable input queue |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2012 Posts: 28
|
This is my requirement:
I am creating a flow that should read messages from different queues.
I am not aware of queue name compile time/deploy time. I will only be aware of queue name at runtime.
so now I am using
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MQ.GET.QueueName = 'myQueue';
could also use:
mqsiapplybaroverride can be used to control this deploy time.
Last edited by geewee on Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:05 am; edited 4 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:49 am Post subject: Re: MQGet, configurable input queue |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
geewee wrote: |
"configurable" [input] queue. |
Another name for this is "bar file override".
You can configure MQInput node at compile time, deploy time, but not at runtime.
Are you new to WMB ? This is a basic question. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
geewee |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2012 Posts: 28
|
thanks
Last edited by geewee on Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:06 am; edited 4 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
MQGet is not an input node. It is a read node. MQGet node should not be used to begin a message flow.
Do you plan to attend training for WMB? _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The MQInput node reads from a location that is fixed at deployment time.
You can *not* use MQGet node to start a flow.
There's no solid good reason to do what you want to do - there are several reasons that can be given, but they are meetable without doing what you want to do.
But you can still do what you want to do by using a TimeoutNotification node to run a flow every X seconds and then call something to decide what queue to read from and then call an MQGet node.
This is not a recommended practice. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
geewee |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2012 Posts: 28
|
I am actually using timeoutnotification node to start flow, and then a mqget to browse from a set of queues.
I want to control how often messages are browsed, this is the reason for timeout notification, heartbeat approach.
Last edited by geewee on Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:07 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
If you attend the requisite training, you will learn the recommended approach.
Is there a reason you cannot attend the training? _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
geewee |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2012 Posts: 28
|

Last edited by geewee on Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:07 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
geewee wrote: |
I am actually using timeoutnotification node to start flow, and then a mqget to browse from queue. But did not yet figure out how to tell what queue to browse from.
I want to control how often messages are browsed, this is the reason for timeout notification, heartbeat approach.
Mqjeff indicates this is not recommended approach. Any hints on where to look for recommended approach. |
The recommended approach is to use mqsiapplybaroverrides to set the location that an MQInput node reads from.
You've resisted that, for no apparent reason.
You've resisted reading the documentation on the MQGet node to learn where it gets the name of the queue it reads from. For little apparent reason. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
geewee |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2012 Posts: 28
|
thanks
Last edited by geewee on Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:08 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
geewee |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2012 Posts: 28
|
.
Last edited by geewee on Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:09 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MKB |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Oct 2012 Posts: 4 Location: India
|
Use two MQinput instances for two queues.Connect their out terminal to the subsequent node.
Hope it will solve your problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
geewee wrote: |
the deploy to staging/prod does not currently support this. |
Your internal processes may not support this. The product definitely supports this. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
geewee |
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2012 Posts: 28
|
thanks
Last edited by geewee on Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:09 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|