Author |
Message
|
aditya08 |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:51 am Post subject: MQ issue |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Jul 2012 Posts: 6
|
Hi all,
Is there a way to disable security in Websphere MQ - 6.0.2.10. MQ is running on Solaris.
Recently I have repointed a standalone java application to above MQ instance. Earlier it was point to MQ in the same the server. After repointing, I am getting below error
Could not create JMS Receiver for BookingService (MQJMS2008: failed to open MQ queue )
javax.jms.InvalidDestinationException: MQJMS2008: failed to open MQ queue
at com.ibm.mq.jms.MQQueueServices.getQueueOpenException(MQQueueServices.java:383)
at com.ibm.mq.jms.JMSServicesMgr.getQueueOpenException(JMSServicesMgr.java:112)
at com.ibm.mq.jms.MQSession.createQReceiver(MQSession.java:5379)
at com.ibm.mq.jms.MQQueueSession.createReceiver(MQQueueSession.java:291)
at com.ibm.mq.jms.MQQueueSession.createReceiver(MQQueueSession.java:272)
Regards,
Adi |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
It's very easy to shoot yourself in the foot, just point the gun down and pull the trigger.
This is to say that disabling the security is exactly the worst way to solve this issue.
You should also be upgrading to MQ v7.0, 7.1 or 7.5 instead of trying to solve this security problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aditya08 |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Jul 2012 Posts: 6
|
agreed. this is dev, so I would like to troubleshoot before taking next steps..
it's legacy system. in createQueueConnection method, no credentailsis being supplied. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
You need to report the linked exception value, so that you know what the MQRC is. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Disabling security is not a part of troubleshooting.
Identifying the source of the issue is part of troubleshooting. If it is determined to be a security issue, then it is always better to provide needed permissions than to remove permissions checking. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aditya08 |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Jul 2012 Posts: 6
|
@mqjeff - how do i know which id I should give permission? In the code I have seen no credentails is being given. To run the application, I log on to windows and run a batch file.
@zpat - unfortunately i can't do code changes (assuming it code change is required) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
aditya08 wrote: |
@mqjeff - how do i know which id I should give permission? |
You could enable qmgr auth events, try the app again, then look for the event message. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
aditya08 wrote: |
agreed. this is dev, so I would like to troubleshoot before taking next steps..
it's legacy system. in createQueueConnection method, no credentailsis being supplied. |
I don't see how you've arrived at the conclusion this is a security issue. As others have said, there's no reason code in that dump. "Failed to open queue" could easily mean that the queue in question doesn't exist on the WMQ instance you're repointed to the Java too.
It could equally mean that the Java in question is using a binding connection (because it used to run on the same server as it's WMQ) and the error handling for the connection is a bit dubious.
I agree with everyone else; how can you troubleshoot when you don't know what the problem is exactly? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aditya08 |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Jul 2012 Posts: 6
|
I wrote a simple java program to replicate the issue. here is linked expection..let me know if any other info is required.
linked exception: com.ibm.mq.MQException: MQJE001: Completion Code '2', Reason '2035'.
javax.jms.JMSSecurityException: MQJMS2008: failed to open MQ queue 'QUEUE.ABC'.
\nFAILURE1\n |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
You could enable qmgr auth events, try the app again, then look for the event message. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
aditya08 wrote: |
I wrote a simple java program to replicate the issue. |
If you don't know what the original issue is, how do you know this is replicating them?
Assuming that this is the issue, how is disabling security going to solve the problem unless you intend to disable security in all environments? I agree this will get dev "working" but once you move into the test environment will be back where you started. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aditya08 |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Jul 2012 Posts: 6
|
bruce2359@hw do i enable auth events and check the events?
Vitor@well it a guess as I am getting "MQJMS2008" in both the scenarios. ok - disabling won't resolve the problem, wht will? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
aditya08 wrote: |
bruce2359@hw do i enable auth events and check the events?
Vitor@well it a guess as I am getting "MQJMS2008" in both the scenarios. ok - disabling won't resolve the problem, wht will? |
You need to report the LinkedException.
That will give you the MQRC which will tell you what the actual problem is.
Stop guessing, start troubleshooting. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aditya08 |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Jul 2012 Posts: 6
|
@mqjeff - ok - hw to get linked exception without changing the code? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
aditya08 wrote: |
@mqjeff - ok - hw to get linked exception without changing the code? |
You can't.
EDIT: If you can't change the code, you need to take an MQ trace.
There are steps documented in the Info Center.
Last edited by mqjeff on Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:06 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|