|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Curiousity Killing This Cat |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
cicsprog |
Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 2:07 pm Post subject: Curiousity Killing This Cat |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 27 Jan 2002 Posts: 347
|
I was helping a programmer the other day (no good deed goes unpunished) with a "I can't find my message" issue. They were just doing an MQPUT to a Cluster queue from code that was developed by a consultant many moons age (what could go wrong). Anyway, I see their messages stuck in the SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE. I asked them if I could IEB-EYE-BALL their code. Here it is with my change where I told them to comment out this move statement. It started working BAU. Was curious why this would cause the issue I saw?
* MOVE MQOT-Q TO MQOD-OBJECTTYPE. <=COMMENT OUT
MOVE W02-OBJECT TO MQOD-OBJECTNAME.
DISPLAY ‘Queue Name=’ MQOD-OBJECTNAME.
*
* INITIALIZE THE WORKING STORAGE FIELDS REQUIRED TO OPEN
* THE QUEUE
*
* W03-OPTIONS IS SET TO OPEN THE QUEUE FOR OUTPUT
* W03-HOBJ IS SET BY THE MQOPEN CALL AND IS USED BY THE
* MQGET AND MQCLOSE CALLS
*
MOVE MQOO-OUTPUT TO W03-OPTIONS.
*
* OPEN THE QUEUE.
*
CALL 'CSQBOPEN' USING W03-HCONN
MQOD
W03-OPTIONS
W03-HOBJ
W03-COMPCODE
W03-REASON. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:49 pm Post subject: Re: Curiousity Killing This Cat |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
cicsprog wrote: |
* MOVE MQOT-Q TO MQOD-OBJECTTYPE. <=COMMENT OUT
|
What was your intent by commenting out the statement that sets object type to queue?
According to the WMQ APR manual, the initial value of the OD object type field is MQOT_Q. So, your change had no effect. At least none relating to the message in the SCTQ.
You might want to look at the stuck message to see where it was supposed to go; then look to see if the destination qmgr is/was available. Is there is another instance of the cluster queue available? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cicsprog |
Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 27 Jan 2002 Posts: 347
|
Didn't see that it was needed for the API call is why I had them comment it out. But, I didn't see that it would do any harm either - thus my question. I'll see if I can recreate it.
The destination CLUSTER queue was hosted by 4 MQM's. Hum... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
cicsprog wrote: |
Didn't see that it was needed for the API call is why I had them comment it out. But, I didn't see that it would do any harm either - thus my question. |
It's one of those best-practice thingies to set all data fields to the required values. It's a form of self-documenting. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cicsprog |
Posted: Fri May 18, 2012 6:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 27 Jan 2002 Posts: 347
|
A retest shows that the move statement has no impact. So, something must have been going on with the non-mainframe platforms MQM's at the time of the intial test.
Just a follow up here to close this thread. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|