Author |
Message
|
firoj.badsa |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 9:59 am Post subject: Ping a server from message flow |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 104
|
Hi,
Is there any way I can ping a server from WMB and get a response? Or is there any way I can check the availability of the server?
thanks in advance, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 10:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
firoj.badsa |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 10:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 104
|
@lancelotlinc, could you please explain a bit how can I achieve this.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 10:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
step 1: identify the mechanisms that the server provides for accepting requests to determine that it is alive.
step 2: identify the mechanisms that exist in Broker that are capable of using at least one of the mechanisms in step 1. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
firoj.badsa |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 10:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 Posts: 104
|
step 1: I can use the ping command from AIX to check the server availability. no FTP/SFTP
step 2: I do not know if there is something in WMB like this. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Well, you can use the TCPIP nodes to send any kind of network request you want. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 10:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
But what happens if the server dies just after it responds to your ping? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 10:29 am Post subject: Re: Ping a server from message flow |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
firoj.badsa wrote: |
Is there any way I can ping a server from WMB and get a response? Or is there any way I can check the availability of the server? |
Why would you want to? What use or advantage does this give you? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 11:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
firoj.badsa wrote: |
step 1: I can use the ping command from AIX to check the server availability. no FTP/SFTP
step 2: I do not know if there is something in WMB like this. |
In a JCN, you can have the following:
Code: |
InetAddress address =
InetAddress.getByName("www.somecompany_url.com");
qreachable =address.isReachable(1024*4);
if(qreachable=true) //Yes, we can !
else //no we cannot
|
_________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|