Author |
Message
|
Narsimha |
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 1:57 am Post subject: database issues |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 19 Jan 2012 Posts: 6 Location: Hyderabad
|
Hi all
Any one can suggest me that by using singe compute node or DataBase node can we connect more than one databases(DB2,Oracle)...
I know that we can connect a database using DataSource name . My Client requirement is using single compute node i need to update multiple Databases.
Please any one can suggest me how can we do..... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Yes, it can be done.
You just put the DSN in the ESQL statement.
Like
Code: |
Database.<DSN Name>.Schema.Table AS T |
.
But you can only talk to databases of the same kind as the DSN set on the relevant node. So if you have a Compute node set to to a DB2 DSN, you can only talk to other DB2 DSNs within that node. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Narsimha |
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 19 Jan 2012 Posts: 6 Location: Hyderabad
|
Thanks for replying mqjeff
you are saying that with in compute node write the following code
like
Code: |
Database.<DSN Name>.Schema.Table AS T |
But if i mentioned other dabase's DSN in esql code how it interacts to the other databases, if it is not configured in our local system mean that
like
Code: |
Database.DBDSN.MB.customer AS ...... |
in the above code DBDSN is the DSN name of the Oracle database then how it interacts with that database and it is not configured in a local system...
[/quote] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 5:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Narsimha wrote: |
in the above code DBDSN is the DSN name of the Oracle database then how it interacts with that database and it is not configured in a local system... |
All the ESQL interactions are via ODBC and conform to the rules of ODBC as they apply to databases hosted locally or remotely. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 7:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You have to configure an ODBC DSN for all of the databases you want to talk to.
You can't just randomly talk to some random database without administrative configuration. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Narsimha |
Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 9:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 19 Jan 2012 Posts: 6 Location: Hyderabad
|
Thank you vitor and mqjeff
Know i fully confident in updating my data in multiple databases...
know i got the right info of with out configuring ODBC DSN we can't talk with multiple databases....
Thank you.... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|