Author |
Message
|
james |
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:56 am Post subject: Queue Full Problem... |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 Posts: 18
|
Hi Guys...
My Environment is AIX. I am not using any monitoring tool as such of now. I need to be informed whenever the queue is full through a mail.
Can anyone help me in this issue.
Regards,
James |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 8:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
You can use performance events to achieve what you are trying to do. You can also have alerts when the queue is at a certain level like 80% of it's maxdepth etc.
You should look at Event Monitoring manual for more info.
-------
Venny |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HrothgarV |
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 07 Apr 2003 Posts: 17
|
also, if you control the application putting messages to the queue, the application would be able to determine when the queue becomes full. you can then put the logic to send an email from the application.
hrothgarV |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
james |
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 Posts: 18
|
Hi,
Did anyone handled this Queue Full problem ever before? If any please help me in this issue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
hrtohgarV,
Your application's MQPUT call will fail (with a queue full reason) only if the queue is local. If you are putting to a remote queue definition and the queue on the remote queue manager is full, messages will begin to pile up on the remote queue manager's dead letter queue, and all the while your MQPUTs will continue to succeed. _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
james |
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 Posts: 18
|
Hi Brandon....
Can you elaborate the explanation
Regards
James |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2003 12:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
I'll try to elaborate....Brandon is saying that with MQSeries, a queue can either be local or remote. If it is local, MQSeries can tell as soon as you try to put to the queue that the queue is full. This will return an error on your MQPUT.
If the queue is remote, MQSeries will put the message on a XMIT queue. An MQ channel will then move this message from the local queue manager to the remote queue manager. When the channel attempts to put the message on the remote queue, it may be full and get an error. At this point, MQ needs to do something with the message so it puts it on the dead letter queue of the remote queue manager. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|