ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere MQ Installation/Configuration Support » V7.1 MI Qmgrs and Domain Controllers

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 V7.1 MI Qmgrs and Domain Controllers « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
murdeep
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 4:23 pm    Post subject: V7.1 MI Qmgrs and Domain Controllers Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 195

Ok, so I am reviewing the "whats new" in V7.1 and come across this:

Quote:
In WebSphere MQ for Windows version 7.1, you can run multi-instance queue managers on Windows servers or workstations that are part of a domain. In version 7.0.1, multi-instance queue managers had to run on domain controllers.


Well reading a little deeper this may not really be the case. I came across this interesting note.

Quote:
An example shows how to set up a multi-instance queue manager on Windows on a workstation or a server that is part of a Windows domain. The server does not have to be a domain controller. The setup is small and simple, to demonstrate the concepts involved, rather than being production scale.


So exactly what does "rather than being production scale" mean?

So, has the Domain Controller requirement on windows been lifted or not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:44 am    Post subject: Re: V7.1 MI Qmgrs and Domain Controllers Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5077

murdeep wrote:
Ok, so I am reviewing the "whats new" in V7.1 and come across this:

Quote:
In WebSphere MQ for Windows version 7.1, you can run multi-instance queue managers on Windows servers or workstations that are part of a domain. In version 7.0.1, multi-instance queue managers had to run on domain controllers.


Well reading a little deeper this may not really be the case. I came across this interesting note.

Quote:
An example shows how to set up a multi-instance queue manager on Windows on a workstation or a server that is part of a Windows domain. The server does not have to be a domain controller. The setup is small and simple, to demonstrate the concepts involved, rather than being production scale.


So exactly what does "rather than being production scale" mean?

So, has the Domain Controller requirement on windows been lifted or not?

I took that to mean "...we are demonstrating how it can be done on some cheap and cheerful bits of tin we had lying around in the lab. Of course you would use proper servers, with all the Production-level safeguards that that environment requires...".

Reading through the examples given, it appears that the requirement to only install on DCs is lifted, but DCs are still required, i.e. if you're only running a Windows workgroup you're out of luck, and interestingly, the main body text of the V7.1 Info Centre still states that MI queue managers require configuration on DCs.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JasonE
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Hursley

Docs:
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r1/topic/com.ibm.mq.doc/mq50090_.htm#mq50090___newfunc_miqm
Quote:
In WebSphere MQ for Windows version 7.1, you can run multi-instance queue managers on Windows servers or workstations that are part of a domain


More details in
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r1/topic/com.ibm.mq.doc/zc15130_.htm

So at 7.0, directories were secured adding the SID of the local mqm group - since that changes between nodes, the only way of having the same SID on both machines was to make them DC's. At 7.1 you can specify a different group which can put the SID for security against, as long as the SID is consistent between machines - ie any domain group (you couldnt secure with domain groups at all previously). All you need is to supply the group on the crtmqm command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
murdeep
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 195

Ok, so as long as we use a domain id whose SID has access to the queue and log files from both nodes we're good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JasonE
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Hursley

You need to have MQ running under a domain id, which in turn is a member of a domain group.

You then supply that domain group on the crtmqm (I dont believe it can be changed later) and the domain groups SID is added to the ACL's of the files to enable access to remain when running on the standby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere MQ Installation/Configuration Support » V7.1 MI Qmgrs and Domain Controllers
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.