Author |
Message
|
swann |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:23 pm Post subject: CHANNEL TRIGGERING |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 50
|
HI EVERYONE,
I am trying the point to point communication between two queue managers.I have set up the queues,channels,and now i am facing problem in channel triggering.CREATED A transmission Q AS
DEFINE QLOCAL(QA) TRIGGER INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ)
USAGE (XMITQ) TRIGDATA(QA.QB) .Meanwhile i dint start the channel as intended , i left it for trigger to start the channel.But the trigger is not really running in my program.If i manually start the channel then i can send message through them.Orelse if i leave it for trigger to start the channel,the qmanger B doesnt get the messages...Please can anyone assess me what might be the problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
There are troubleshooting steps available in the manuals.
I do not say this to be mean, I do not say this to make you look ignorant, I do not say this to suggest you haven't read the manuals.
I say this to encourage you to show us the parts of the manuals that you have read, that you are having issues understanding, so we can explain those better.
Otherwise, the issue you have presented is not solvable from the data you have described. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:43 pm Post subject: Re: CHANNEL TRIGGERING |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
swann wrote: |
... i left it for trigger to start the channel. ... |
Triggers represent (potential) events. A trigger event message will be the result of the trigger being fired. Trigger management components of the qmgr will put a trigger event message in the named initiation queue as a result of the trigger being fired.
A trigger monitor application will get the trigger event message from the initiation queue, and start the channel.
WMQ supplies two flavors of such a trigger monitor. One of these is a control command, which is documented in the WMQ System Admin manual.
Go to google, and search for 'how to start mq channels'. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
swann |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 50
|
Thanks Bruce.Well i would like to produce the complete information
QMGR: QA
LISTENER CREATED AND STARTED
REMOTE QUEUE : QA.REMOTE
TRANSMISION QUEUE: QB
SDR CHANNEL: QA.QB
DEFINE QREMOTE(QA.REMOTE) RNAME(QB.LOCAL) QMNAME(QB) XMITQ(QB)
DEFINE QLOCAL(QB) TRIGGER INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ)
USAGE (XMITQ) TRIGDATA(QA.QB)
DEFINE LISTENER(TCP) TRPTYPE(TCP) PORT(1415) CONTROL(QMGR)
START LISTENER(TCP)
DEFINE QLOCAL(QB.LOCAL)
DEFINE CHANNEL(QA.QB) CHLTYPE(RCVR) TRPTYPE(TCP)
QMGR : QB
LISTENER CREATED AND STARTED
LOCAL QUEUE : QB.LOCAL
RCVR CHANNEL: QA.QB
DEFINE LISTENER(TCP) TRPTYPE(TCP) PORT(1415) CONTROL(QMGR)
START LISTENER(TCP)
DEFINE QLOCAL(QB.LOCAL)
DEFINE CHANNEL(QA.QB) CHLTYPE(RCVR) TRPTYPE(TCP)
I used this command
runmqtrm -m QA -q SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ
the result is websphere mq trigger started , initiation queue in use , websphere mq trigger ended.
But the channel did not start until i start it manually.I think the TRIGGER MONITOR DINT SEND A MESSAGE TO INTIATION QUEUE...I JUST QANT TO KNOWN THE PROBLEM FOR IT.So Please send any suggestions |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 6:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
swann wrote: |
I think the TRIGGER MONITOR DINT SEND A MESSAGE TO INTIATION QUEUE |
I think if you re-read the documentation you'll notice the trigger monitor application reads the messages from the initiation queue not sends them. A little more reading on triggering there I think.
Once you've done that you'll notice the trigger monitor you've started starts a process associated with the trigger, which you don't have here.
Or you could use the application provided with the product that's intended to start channels, which isn't the trigger monitor. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
swann |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 50
|
YA BUT TO SET UP A TRANSMISSION QUEUE YOU DONOT NEED A PROCESS .IN MY EX I DEFINED IT AS
DEFINE QLOCAL(QB) TRIGGER INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ) +
USAGE (XMITQ) TRIGDATA(QA.QB)
HERE THE INITQ IS SET BY DEFAULT SO ONCE THE MESSAGE ARRIVES ON QB.LOCAL THE TRIGGER MONITOR STARTS INTERNALLY AND READS A MESSAGE FROM INITQ AND THEN IT STARTS THE CHANNEL.Which IS NOT HAPPENING IN MY CASE.I WANT TO KNOWN THE ERROR HERE.SO ANY SUGGESTION ON IT. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
There's a small key on the left side of your keyboard labeled Caps Lock. Please click it. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 8:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
swann wrote: |
SO ANY SUGGESTION ON IT. |
2 suggestions:
1) STOP SHOUTING!
2) Re-read my previous post:
Vitor wrote: |
you could use the application provided with the product that's intended to start channels, which isn't the trigger monitor. |
So don't shout at me that the trigger monitor isn't starting the channel when I've already told you it doesn't do that.
And don't say that "the trigger monitor starts internally" when you yourself included the command to run it externally in your original post! None of these processes are "internal", even the channel itself is implemented as an external MCA process. The only "internal" part is the generation of a message on the init queue.
Read, think, and look at what you're typing. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 8:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Quote: |
I used this command
runmqtrm -m QA -q SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ
the result is websphere mq trigger started , initiation queue in use , websphere mq trigger ended. |
This is the right answer.
What you need to check for is if you have a channel initiator listening to the SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ...
Check your system processes for runmqchi or CHINIT in zOS...
Also on your xmitq check that TRIGTYPE is set to FIRST
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
swann wrote: |
I think the TRIGGER MONITOR DINT SEND A MESSAGE TO INTIATION QUEUE.. |
There are lots of discussions on this topic in this forum.. have you tried to search that first and then read and understand ?
If not, I do your job a bit easy, look at here
As correctly said by all senior members... follow it !
* check SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ exists ?
* check channel initiator running ?
* TriggerData attribute ( as channel name )
* Request to not to use CAPS unless you are specifying some part of code/definitions/imp. things as an announcement (that could be without CAPS instead)
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 12:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
I'm not surprised nothing is happening. Look very, very closely at the high-lighted sections below and then tell me whether it's a typo or not...
swann wrote: |
QMGR: QA
LISTENER CREATED AND STARTED
REMOTE QUEUE : QA.REMOTE
TRANSMISION QUEUE: QB
SDR CHANNEL: QA.QB
DEFINE QREMOTE(QA.REMOTE) RNAME(QB.LOCAL) QMNAME(QB) XMITQ(QB)
DEFINE QLOCAL(QB) TRIGGER INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ)
USAGE (XMITQ) TRIGDATA(QA.QB)
DEFINE LISTENER(TCP) TRPTYPE(TCP) PORT(1415) CONTROL(QMGR)
START LISTENER(TCP)
DEFINE QLOCAL(QB.LOCAL)
DEFINE CHANNEL(QA.QB) CHLTYPE(RCVR) TRPTYPE(TCP)
QMGR : QB
LISTENER CREATED AND STARTED
LOCAL QUEUE : QB.LOCAL
RCVR CHANNEL: QA.QB
DEFINE LISTENER(TCP) TRPTYPE(TCP) PORT(1415) CONTROL(QMGR)
START LISTENER(TCP)
DEFINE QLOCAL(QB.LOCAL)
DEFINE CHANNEL(QA.QB) CHLTYPE(RCVR) TRPTYPE(TCP) |
And why did you create QB.LOCAL in queue manager QA? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Your point is correct !
Are those qmgrs on the same server/machine Or on different servers in network? ( Not Mentioned By OP )
Listener port has to be different for both the mq qmgrs , if qmgrs are on same server/machine. Otherwise using command prompt when you define the listener (using same port and qmgrs are on same machine) it won't give the error but it won't start and will through an error AMQ9255 in the qmgr error logs. _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Are those qmgrs on the same server/machine Or on different servers in network? ( Not Mentioned By OP ) |
Irrelevant...
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Listener port has to be different for both the mq qmgrs , if qmgrs are on same server/machine. Otherwise using command prompt when you define the listener (using same port and qmgrs are on same machine) it won't give the error but it won't start and will through an error AMQ9255 in the qmgr error logs. |
Relevant... _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
exerk wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Are those qmgrs on the same server/machine Or on different servers in network? ( Not Mentioned By OP ) |
Irrelevant... |
May be, May be not ! ( as far as below section seems relevant and *clarity* in post )
exerk wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Listener port has to be different for both the mq qmgrs , if qmgrs are on same server/machine. Otherwise using command prompt when you define the listener (using same port and qmgrs are on same machine) it won't give the error but it won't start and will through an error AMQ9255 in the qmgr error logs. |
Relevant... |
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|