Author |
Message
|
swann |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:08 pm Post subject: STARTING QUEUE MANAGER |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 50
|
Hello Everyone,
By using strmqm {queuemanager} we can start the queue manager of only one .Suppose if we have a scenario to start 100 queue managers,Is there any command to start all those with one command? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Yes.
You can use the unix command "for" to create a loop. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
swann |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 21 Jun 2011 Posts: 50
|
Hey thanks for the reply can you please show me an example to do so in a word document or in any form |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
I could show you.
I refuse to show you, when Mr. Google will do a much better job. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
mqjeff wrote: |
You can use the unix command "for" to create a loop. |
More precisely, this is part of the shell, not a Unix command. Yes I'm being pedantic, sorry.
Hello swann, please search the internet and find a manual and/or a tutorial for "bash", "ksh" or whatever shell you are using. Search in there for how to use "for". You might also find a forum where people offer help learning shells. However I would guess most people regard this as basic platform skills, and you might find people advising you to "read the manual".
Example: Try searching on Google for
Quote: |
bash beginners guide |
Myself, I would not use shell, I would use Perl. But that's just me. Again there is plenty of info out there on how to use Perl.
Lastly, how many queue managers do you really need? I have never heard of anyone needing to run 100 on the same machine. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
mvic wrote: |
...Lastly, how many queue managers do you really need? I have never heard of anyone needing to run 100 on the same machine. |
z/Linux?  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
exerk wrote: |
z/Linux?  |
Yes but 100 queue managers? You should at least question the design and the requirement. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
z/OS, too.
A large retail company replaced its mainframe (with a few hundred qmgr instances in one lpar) with a few hundred AIX rack-mounted boxes with one qmgr each.
The CIO's best friend was an AIX box reseller. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
exerk wrote: |
mvic wrote: |
...Lastly, how many queue managers do you really need? I have never heard of anyone needing to run 100 on the same machine. |
z/Linux?  |
Does your zLinux have 400 processors? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
mvic wrote: |
exerk wrote: |
mvic wrote: |
...Lastly, how many queue managers do you really need? I have never heard of anyone needing to run 100 on the same machine. |
z/Linux?  |
Does your zLinux have 400 processors? |
It's a mainframe - lots of horsepower there. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
Quote: |
It's a mainframe - lots of horsepower there. |
Surely.
And what's the answer to my question? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
mvic wrote: |
Quote: |
It's a mainframe - lots of horsepower there. |
Surely.
And what's the answer to my question? |
An o/s instance (z/OS, zLinux, zVM, zTPF, CFCC, zVSE, others) runs in an LPAR.
LPARS on z hardware can be provisioned with from sub-uni-processor to lots of processors, and lots of I/O capacity, and lots of central storage (think RAM).
Examples of contemporary z hardware:
Older hardware:
zSeries 990 - 32 processors, 30 LPARS, 256GB central storage, 9104 MIPS (millions of instructions per second).
z9 EC - 54 processors, 60 LPARS, 512GB central storage, 17802 MIPS.
Newer hardware:
z10 EC - 64 processors, 60 LPARS, 1.5TB central storage, 30657 MIPS.
z196 - 80 processors, 60 LPARS, 3TB per server - 1TB per LPAR, 52000 MIPS.
As part of workload management, WLM (Workload Manager) software, combined with IRD (Intelligent Resource Director) can move physical resources to those LPARS and workloads through automation, as needed, and where needed, based on site-specified business goals.
In answer to your specific question about zLinux having 400 processors, it is not uncommon on a mainframe to find hundreds or thousands of currently logged in/in users, each running interactive and batch work. It would be no need for a processor to be allocated to a single qmgr on a z box. A single processor can serve multiple workloads.
I repeat - lots of horsepower there. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
The strmqm command does not return control until the queue manager has started and is ready to accept connect requests.
Also please take care of Return Code, when strmqm is used ( assuming mqv7 here ) . you can refer infocenter mqv7 for those retrun codes.
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
By the way, you are asking to start 100 qmgrs using single command !
How you ended those 100 qmgrs , manually ? Or never started ? Or Ended unexpectedly.
You can write a script for that too. Just a thought ! (may or may not be useful in your case)
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
So how many processors does one need for 100 busy queue managers plus applications? I don't think 80 would be enough. (That's supposing the OS will let you have all the semaphores, processes, mutexes, file handles, whatever else.) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|