Author |
Message
|
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:07 am Post subject: AMQ9915 from .NET |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
The .NET people are testing a client application and are getting a 2059 from the create of the MQQueueManager object. Checking the queue manager log they're getting a AMQ9915 error "The IP protocol 'IPV4/IPV6' is not present on the system".
I'm fairly sure there's no IPv6 anywhere in the network. After some Googling & head scratching I've checked the queue manager's MQIPADDRV (set to IPv4), verified we're using a nnn.nnn.nnn.nnn address not a xxxxx:xxxxxx:xxxxxx:xxxxxxx one & tried putting a mqclient.ini file with the IPv4 setting in the application's directory (mostly as an act of desparation).
I've verified that the settings are correct with amqsputc so it's clearly a .NET thing rather than a client thing. The application is setting the properties hashtable of MQEnvironment and passing that with the queue manager name into the constructor, and there doesn't seem to be a property that forces IPv4. So:
- am I on the right line that this dratted thing is trying to use some kind of compatibility protocol the machine's not got installed?
- how can I force it to use IPv4 with nothing but some .NET code (the machine software install is fixed for political reasons)?
- Is there something missing from the hashtable if we have TRANSPORT_PROPERTY, HOST_NAME_PROPERTY, PORT_PROPERTY & CHANNEL_PROPERTY? Like IP_LEVEL for instance?
- What totally obvious error have I overlooked (production call at 2am, caffine levels are dangerously high)?
WMQv7.0.1.5
.NET 4.something
Win7 64 bit
Ridicule invited. .NET is on my list of things to master. Along with Java. Though I've made more progress with .NET. Just clearly not enough. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:19 pm Post subject: Re: AMQ9915 from .NET |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Vitor wrote: |
The .NET people are testing a client application and are getting a 2059 from the create of the MQQueueManager object. Checking the queue manager log they're getting a AMQ9915 error "The IP protocol 'IPV4/IPV6' is not present on the system".
|
That error shows up on the QM error log? Or the MQ Client error log? Or are both on the same server? _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:30 pm Post subject: Re: AMQ9915 from .NET |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
Vitor wrote: |
The .NET people are testing a client application and are getting a 2059 from the create of the MQQueueManager object. Checking the queue manager log they're getting a AMQ9915 error "The IP protocol 'IPV4/IPV6' is not present on the system".
|
That error shows up on the QM error log? Or the MQ Client error log? Or are both on the same server? |
In the queue manager log, client log has nothing.
Both client app & queue manager are running on the same machine, though once we've got this test working we (obviously) plan to client onto a remote queue manager. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Is the .NET app using "localhost"?
Is the listener using TCPIP? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:44 pm Post subject: Re: AMQ9915 from .NET |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
Vitor wrote: |
The .NET people are testing a client application and are getting a 2059 from the create of the MQQueueManager object. |
Usually listener not running, network address or port specified incorrectly somewhere.
Quote: |
Checking the queue manager log they're getting a AMQ9915 error "The IP protocol 'IPV4/IPV6' is not present on the system". |
Assuming you really do mean the qmgr log, then that is probably not related to any particular remote host. Your listener will bind to a port and NIC based on qmgr attributes, not client attributes. I would expect (haven't tested!) that if you bind to an IPv4 address successfully, there should be no complaints later from the IP stack re. IPv6 packets. Or maybe I'm completely wrong about that, but I don't think so.
Summary: Sounds to me like you might have a problem with the listener config on the qmgr, not the client. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:52 pm Post subject: Re: AMQ9915 from .NET |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
mvic wrote: |
Summary: Sounds to me like you might have a problem with the listener config on the qmgr, not the client. |
But his amqsputc test worked. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Is the .NET app using "localhost"? |
Yes, also tried with 127.0.0.1
mqjeff wrote: |
Is the listener using TCPIP? |
Yes _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:56 pm Post subject: Re: AMQ9915 from .NET |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mvic wrote: |
Vitor wrote: |
The .NET people are testing a client application and are getting a 2059 from the create of the MQQueueManager object. |
Usually listener not running, network address or port specified incorrectly somewhere. |
The listener's doing a good impression of running & amqsput/getc are not having a problem.
mvic wrote: |
Assuming you really do mean the qmgr log |
Yes I do mean that.
mvic wrote: |
Summary: Sounds to me like you might have a problem with the listener config on the qmgr, not the client. |
It all looks to be working fine. This isn't my first rodeo, nor is it my first 2059. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:57 pm Post subject: Re: AMQ9915 from .NET |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
mvic wrote: |
Summary: Sounds to me like you might have a problem with the listener config on the qmgr, not the client. |
But his amqsputc test worked. |
I should have just agreed with this.....  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 7:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
What is the transport property in the hash table set to?
Can you give details?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:38 pm Post subject: Re: AMQ9915 from .NET |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
mvic wrote: |
Summary: Sounds to me like you might have a problem with the listener config on the qmgr, not the client. |
But his amqsputc test worked. |
I missed that earlier, sorry.
What happens when trying with nmqsput.cs, I wonder? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Vitor wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
Is the .NET app using "localhost"? |
Yes, also tried with 127.0.0.1 |
Can you try with the real IP of the box? You may be running into issues with loopback taking shortcuts. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
What is the transport property in the hash table set to? |
TRANSPORT_MQSERIES_CLIENT _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Vitor wrote: |
fjb_saper wrote: |
What is the transport property in the hash table set to? |
TRANSPORT_MQSERIES_CLIENT |
And the client is installed properly, it's not a .NET managed client installation?
Is the output from dspmqver correct on the box?
Are the right binaries in the gac (see gacutil) ?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
And the client is installed properly, it's not a .NET managed client installation? |
It's a full client install that amqsgetc seems to believe in, and I'm given to understand that to make a managed connection we'd need a different transport property. Or do we? Note to self: check setting of NM_LIB_whatever.....
fjb_saper wrote: |
Is the output from dspmqver correct on the box? |
Yes - 7.0.1.5
fjb_saper wrote: |
Are the right binaries in the gac (see gacutil) ?  |
I'll seek professional advice & get back to you on that. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|