Author |
Message
|
hongabonga |
Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:21 pm Post subject: Writing to remote queue |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 15 Feb 2011 Posts: 24
|
Hi Friends,
I have this situation which I am not able to understand very clearly.
I have one flow(WMB) in my local machine, which need to write to a remote Queue(with the MQOutput node) in one remote queue manager.
There are things like transmission queue and all. I am not very good with these.
Can you please help me understand this concept? Or if possible, guide me to some doc that I can follow.
Many thanks in advance friends.
Thanks and Regards,
Ankur Chakraborty |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr Butcher |
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 1716
|
in a view words
qmgrA mqput -> remotequeue -> xmitq -> channel between qmgr and qmgrB -> qmgrB -> target queue
your "local definition of a remote queue" specifies target queue name, target queuemanager name and transmission queue.
for detail - intercommunication guide _________________ Regards, Butcher |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hongabonga |
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 15 Feb 2011 Posts: 24
|
Hi Mr Butcher.
Thanks a lot for the info.
However, I am really not much knowledgeable in MQ, let me clarify my understanding of your points.
If I write(from my MQOutput node) to Q_A of QMGR_A which is local Queue Manager, it uses a channel between QMGR_A(local) to QMGR_B(remote) and put the message in TRAGET_Q_B there. And for this transmission between the two QUEUE MANAGERS, it uses a Transmission QUEUE at the QMGR_A called XMITQ.
So, is this what you are saying?
Thanks again for the reply. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mr Butcher |
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 23 May 2005 Posts: 1716
|
well.... you are close..... but no, this is not exacxly what i meant. for example, we do not know how the transmission queue is named. xmitq is just an abbreviation for transmission queue. but yes it is used.
i am afraid it will not help to go into detail because you really miss the basics. To avoid further missunderstanding you should read some of the MQ manuals. Start with the basics (there is a "primer" manual), continue with Intercommunication as this is what you are interested in at the moment.
then return with your questions. _________________ Regards, Butcher |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hongabonga |
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 15 Feb 2011 Posts: 24
|
Hi Mr. Butcher.
Yes, the 34 page primer was really good.
Thanks. It solved my queries. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kichcha |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 29 Apr 2011 Posts: 1
|
I have a few questions related to this topic -
1. I want to write to a remote queue using a transmission queue. However, the remote queue name needs to be dynamic. Since "local definition of a remote queue" also includes the queue name, is there a way to address dynamic queues as well?
2. I need to write a piece of java code to write to the local transmission queue. I was under the impression that I need to use the MQXQH class for accomplishing this, but, the jar file (com.ibm.mq.jar) that was supplied with the MQ 6.1 installation did not contain the class. What am I missing here? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
kichcha wrote: |
1. I want to write to a remote queue using a transmission queue. However, the remote queue name needs to be dynamic. Since "local definition of a remote queue" also includes the queue name, is there a way to address dynamic queues as well? |
Yes - specify the name in the put call rather than the name of a locally defined remote queue.
kichcha wrote: |
2. I need to write a piece of java code to write to the local transmission queue. |
No you don't. There's no good reason for any normal application to write directly to a transmission queue, and very few reasons for an abnormal application to do so. If you believe you need to, re-read the documentation, especially the link given earlier and the Intercommunication manual, until you change your mind.
kichcha wrote: |
I was under the impression that I need to use the MQXQH class for accomplishing this, but, the jar file (com.ibm.mq.jar) that was supplied with the MQ 6.1 installation did not contain the class. What am I missing here? |
The fact that IBM didn't think the jar file most normal applications import needed to contain this? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Read the intercommunication manual again and pay particular attention to the part talking about multi-hopping.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Vitor wrote: |
kichcha wrote: |
1. I want to write to a remote queue using a transmission queue. However, the remote queue name needs to be dynamic. Since "local definition of a remote queue" also includes the queue name, is there a way to address dynamic queues as well? |
Yes - specify the name in the put call rather than the name of a locally defined remote queue. |
You would specify the name of the destination queue and the destination queue manager on the open call, or the MQPUT1 call. Assuming the MQ administrator did their job and the MQ objects are defined correctly, MQ name resolution will forward the message to the correct transmission queue. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|