|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Help with VB application. |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
kriersd |
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 7:50 am Post subject: Help with VB application. |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jul 2002 Posts: 209 Location: IA, USA
|
Hello folks..
I need a little VB help.. I would like to know what API's expose the work item properties. For example: My VB program has been invoked by "STARTING" a workitem. Workflow then passes the request to a PEA on my desktop and the PEA opens up my VB application. Now, at this point I would like to API back into workflow and get a handle to the same workitem that I issued the "START" on. My problem is that I can't seem to find a way to get a handle to the WorkItem.
A code snipit would be really great!
Any Help would be greatly appricated.
Thanks
Dave _________________ Dave Krier
IBM WebSphere MQ Workflow V3.4 Solution Designer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Dave:
What you want to do is not as easy as you might think. When you are running under the PEA you have easy access to the Container, but thats about it.
If you want to access the current workitem I think you will need to do the following:
Issue a passthrough to get an ExecutionService.
Find the workitem by querying the ExecutionService.
You can locate the workitem using a Filter that contains the ActivityName and the InstanceName which you can get out of the container.
If there is an easier way to do this, I am not aware of it.
GOOD LUCK _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kriersd |
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 11:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 22 Jul 2002 Posts: 209 Location: IA, USA
|
Hey John
Thanks for the reply.. Scott Thompson says Hi..
I will give it a wack and see what happens. Not that I doubt you, but, are you sure that the data container by default contains the process id or would I have to map the process id into the data container myself?
Dave
P.S. I did get my invite to the T3. Hopfully this WAR thing doesn't impact my travel plans. I have spoke with Rick M & Steve Rehrer from Syscom, and I'll be meeting up with them in Germany a few days prior to the class for a little sight seeing. Let me know if there is any PRIORITY issues you would like me to address for you while attending the class. I would be happy to do that.
Take care.
Dave _________________ Dave Krier
IBM WebSphere MQ Workflow V3.4 Solution Designer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 11:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Dave:
_ACTIVITY has the ActivityName
_PROCESS has the ProcessInstanceName.
I hope you enjoy the T3.
Eric is going with my list of questions. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|