Author |
Message
|
pezi |
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:37 am Post subject: Max message length limited when using security exit? |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 08 Feb 2008 Posts: 15 Location: Vienna/Austria
|
Hello,
We are connecting to a queue manager with a security exit and are experiencing the problem that the max queue length which was 100 MB before was reduced to 4 MB after the client exit was activated.
Is there a setting on client side which may cause this message length limitation?
Regards
Peter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
What platform?
What version of WMQ server?
What version of the client? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pezi |
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 08 Feb 2008 Posts: 15 Location: Vienna/Austria
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
What platform?
What version of WMQ server?
What version of the client? |
Sorry I forgot to post this:
Server: Windows 2008 R2 / Websphere MQ 7.0.1.3
Client: Windows 7 / MQClient 6.0.2.3
Peter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
Well, rather then change the size of the message, you should allow message segmentation. Look it up in the Info Center. Looks fairly easy. I would also upgrade your client to V7 (unless you have a compatibility issue, then at least put on the most recent CSD). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
I'd expect that a clientconn channel is being used. Did you check what the max msglength oon said clientconn channel was?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
There is always the possibility that the exit itself allows only a 4MB maximum. The site at which I am currently working has a 'legacy' exit that enforces that limitation - someone in the dim and distant past made the decision that no message larger than that could pass across the WMQ network. If you have access to the source code check to see whether there is a hard-coded limit, because if it was 100MB before the exit was introduced the exit is the most likely culprit. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
We are connecting to a queue manager with a security exit and are experiencing the problem that the max queue length which was 100 MB before was reduced to 4 MB after the client exit was activated. |
What does the security exit do?
Do you mean max message length?
Where do you see this being reduced? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pezi |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 08 Feb 2008 Posts: 15 Location: Vienna/Austria
|
Hi,
Here some more information. I have updated my client.
MQServer 7.0.1.3
MQClient v7.0.1.1
The Setup does use MQSERVER variable (which probably is connected to the problem).
All Queues & Channels are set to 100MB also the defaults like SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN.
SecuritExit used is the sample of BlockIP2 <http://www.mrmq.dk/index.htm?BlockIP2.htm> which only allow or disallow certain IPs.
Connecting to the QMGR with MQCONN and later MQINQ to get MQIA_MAX_MSG_LENGTH does work and results in the 100MB.
BUT connecting with MQCONNX and later the same MQINQ does return always only 4MB.
Could that be a bug ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
From the V7.0 Info Centre...
Quote: |
...When the MQSERVER environment variable is used to define a client channel, a maximum message length (MAXMSGL) of 100 MB is used. Therefore the maximum message size in effect for the channel is the value specified in the SVRCONN channel at the server... |
Recheck the setting in the SVRCONN, be absolutely sure, and just how did you update the client? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
MQCONNX ignores MQSERVER.
In favor of the structures you create yourself. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pezi |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 08 Feb 2008 Posts: 15 Location: Vienna/Austria
|
Hi,
Our programmer found the problem. He has used parts of v5 and v6 APIs for compilation which had still this message length limitation. He realized that he did not really need to implement it with these API parts and now it is working correctly.
Thanks
Peter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
pezi wrote: |
Hi,
Our programmer found the problem. He has used parts of v5 and v6 APIs for compilation which had still this message length limitation. He realized that he did not really need to implement it with these API parts and now it is working correctly. |
He should instead clean up his build environment such that he doesn't have "parts" of v5 or v6 lying around. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
pezi wrote: |
Connecting to the QMGR with MQCONN and later MQINQ to get MQIA_MAX_MSG_LENGTH does work and results in the 100MB.
BUT connecting with MQCONNX and later the same MQINQ does return always only 4MB.
Could that be a bug ? |
I suspect the MQCD structure argument to MQCONNX has its MaxMsgLength field set to 4MB (the value in MQCD_DEFAULT, even on MQ v7). The program needs to set this to 100MB in the MQCD before calling MQCONNX. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 4:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
gbaddeley wrote: |
...The program needs to set this to 100MB in the MQCD before calling MQCONNX. |
Or better still, use a CCDT so that it can be dynamically tuned... _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|