Author |
Message
|
starki78 |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:49 am Post subject: How to simulate EBCDIC Charset (284)on non mainframe QM? |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 24 Sep 2007 Posts: 53
|
Hello,
We would like to integrate with a MQ-Queuemanager which runs on mainframe with CCSID 284.
http://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/EBCDIC_284
What we want to check is if the Spanish characters are converted correctly.
I know that I must set MQ-convert but I would like to test this in my local environment where I don't have mainframe and
the command below is not working (as expected)
alter qmgr ccsid (284)
1 : alter qmgr ccsid (284)
AMQ7090: The queue manager CCSID is not valid.
Has somebody an idea?
Thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:10 am Post subject: Re: How to simulate EBCDIC Charset (284)on non mainframe QM? |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
starki78 wrote: |
Has somebody an idea? |
The error is likely a result of your local OS not supporting that CCSID. Many distributed systems don't support mainframe code pages by default. Speak to your OS admin & see if the support can be installed / enabled / configured (depending on what your local system is as you've not mentioned it) _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
starki78 |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 24 Sep 2007 Posts: 53
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Can't say I'm surprised. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Refer to the WMQ Application Programming Reference. There's an appendix that cross-references code-pages by platform type. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fatherjack |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Apr 2010 Posts: 522 Location: Craggy Island
|
starki78 wrote: |
What I would need it something like an Mainframe-Emulator to run on Windows or Linux that allows me to work with EBCDIC |
There's some mentioned in the link you posted. _________________ Never let the facts get in the way of a good theory. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
What we want to check is if the Spanish characters are converted correctly. |
What have you tried?
The consuming application will need to specify MQGMO_CONVERT to have the application data converted from one CCSID to the other. Alternatively, the SENDER channel on the sending platform can specify CONVERT(YES) to cause the message to be converted before it is sent across the channel.
What is the CCSID on the midrange (Win, UNIX) platform? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
So I think, really, the information you're looking for is here
If you really need to know what characters will get turned into what other characters, you can look at the relevant codepage definitions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
starki78 |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 24 Sep 2007 Posts: 53
|
Thanks for the link
1. In the real work the client is windows and MQ is on AIX/Mainframe
2. In my test the client is windows and the MQ is on Linux.
Based on the info I changed the CCSID on Linux to 819
3. On Windows I create the QM-reference using CCSID 819
4. When I put a tesmessage with a spanish symbol it converts correct:
ñ
5. In the real world the QManager has 284 and the CCSID on Windows is 284 when referencing the QM.
6. Using MQConvert it basically works to convert Data but Spanish Characters are not converted.
I don't know how to simulate this and how to fix this |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
1. In the real work the client is windows and MQ is on AIX/Mainframe |
AIX or mainframe? If mainframe, which mainframe o/s? zLinux?
Quote: |
2. In my test the client is windows and the MQ is on Linux.
Which Windows CCSID?
Based on the info I changed the CCSID on Linux to 819 |
Linux? zLinux? Or Intel Linux?
Quote: |
3. On Windows I create the QM-reference using CCSID 819 |
What is a QM-reference?
Quote: |
4. When I put a tesmessage with a spanish symbol it converts correct:
ñ |
Yay, success.
Quote: |
5. In the real world the QManager has 284 and the CCSID on Windows is 284 when referencing the QM. |
I remain confused. Which qmgr? Which platform?
Quote: |
6. Using MQConvert it basically works to convert Data but Spanish Characters are not converted. |
What exactly do you mean by MQConvert?
What does 'words to convert Data' mean? It converts ALL non-Spanish characters? What characters are not being converted correctly? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
starki78 |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 24 Sep 2007 Posts: 53
|
sorry for being unclear.
1. Mainframe (sure) OS HP-UX PA-RISC
2. Intel Linux
3. When instantiating the QM-object I can set the CCSID as paramter
6. Without MQ-Convert in the Get-Message-Options the message arrives completely garbeled:
����@���@�
with MQ-Convert only specific Spanish symbols like ñ are garbeled.
Basically I would like to reproduce an issue an a EBCDIC-System
using a non EBCDIC-linux System.
Please let me know if you have an idea
Thanks
Christian |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Mainframe here means an IBM zSeries (or equivalent) hardware platform, running an IBM zArchitecture operating system - like z/OS, zVM, zLinux, etc.. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
I'm further confused.
First you say:
1. In the real work the client is windows and MQ is on AIX/Mainframe
Then you say:
1. Mainframe (sure) OS HP-UX PA-RISC
Which is it? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
starki78 wrote: |
with MQ-Convert only specific Spanish symbols like ñ are garbeled. |
Its possible that whatever you are using to display the characters is garbling them, such as your terminal display or emulator. To be certain, you must check the hex byte codes in the converted message, and look them up in a definitive table for the code page.
Characters can also be screwed on the mainframe side if the app program code page is slightly different to the code page that MQ is using. This is a common problem in the various English EBCDIC code pages, such as 37 and 500. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
gbaddeley wrote: |
starki78 wrote: |
with MQ-Convert only specific Spanish symbols like ñ are garbeled. |
Its possible that whatever you are using to display the characters is garbling them, such as your terminal display or emulator. To be certain, you must check the hex byte codes in the converted message, and look them up in a definitive table for the code page.
Characters can also be screwed on the mainframe side if the app program code page is slightly different to the code page that MQ is using. This is a common problem in the various English EBCDIC code pages, such as 37 and 500. |
If you set your CCSID right and are able to display multibyte characters you should never see a garbled character or symbol...
(long live UTF-8 )  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|