Author |
Message
|
zpat |
Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:24 am Post subject: MQ applications - change for WMQ 7? |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
I woud like to know if anyone has found that an MQ application (particularly MQ client apps) needs to change when MQ is upgraded from V6 to V7?
I have noted one potential area, where MQRCs are being extended - are there any others?
Quote: |
MQCONN reason codes
WebSphere MQ Version 7.0 provides some more specific reason codes for failed MQCONN calls.
Situations in which an MQCONN call failed to connect to a queue manager in WebSphere MQ Version 6.0, with reason code MQRC_Q_MGR_NOT_AVAILABLE, can still output reason code MQRC_Q_MGR_NOT_AVAILABLE in WebSphere MQ Version 7.0, or one of the following more specific reason codes:
MQRC_CHANNEL_NOT_AVAILABLE
MQRC_HOST_NOT_AVAILABLE
MQRC_CHANNEL_CONFIG_ERROR
MQRC_UNKNOWN_CHANNEL_NAME
If you have a WebSphere MQ Version 6.0 application that takes specific actions based on the reason code, you might need to change the application to take account of the additional reason codes.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
I'll take that as a no then.
Or a related matter, what is the filesystem space needed for the MQ v7 software. I am finding it hard to locate the figure (for AIX)? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
zpat wrote: |
I'll take that as a no then. |
New MQ Reason Codes seem to be added at all major releases. There are so many that a program cannot possibly test for them all. Some well known important codes need to be handled, but all other should be treated as "unexpected error exceptions". A new one in v7 that seems to pop up regularly for Clients is 2537MQRC_CHANNEL_NOT_AVAILABLE.
Quote: |
Or a related matter, what is the filesystem space needed for the MQ v7 software. I am finding it hard to locate the figure (for AIX)? |
The WMQ AIX Quick Beginnings V7.0 should always be your first port of call for requirements. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 9:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
If you have Java applications you should review them all (Java base and JMS). The constant classes changed and a number of classes have been deprecated in favor of the new classes and methods to be used.
Also an easy way to deal with headers is now present with import com.ibm.mq.headers.*;
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
gbaddeley wrote: |
New MQ Reason Codes seem to be added at all major releases. There are so many that a program cannot possibly test for them all.
The WMQ AIX Quick Beginnings V7.0 should always be your first port of call for requirements. |
However we have to code our MQ client apps to programmatically retry connections on RC 2059, so that if that has been broken down to more return codes - applications will need to change, or they will not retry on these. The one that looks most worrying is the "host not found" error. If this happens as we reboot the QM box (or HA failover) then our client apps will not retry the connection as they are looking for 2059 code.
Therefore this is a disruptive change to WMQ apps. Does anyone know if this 2059 RC change will occur with a WMQ v7 client upgrade, or with a WMQ v7 queue manager upgrade, or with either?
What happens with WMQ v6 clients accessing WMQ v7 queue managers?
I did read quick beginnings but did not see the disk space requirements there or on the web link it provided for h/w and s/w pre-reqs. That's why I am asking (not being a complete beginner myself ) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Yes, an MQ Client at MQ 7 (doesn't matter what the MQ server is) will return other more specific reason codes as appropriate instead of always the "generic" 2059. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
zpat wrote: |
However we have to code our MQ client apps to programmatically retry connections on RC 2059 |
Or code them to use the auto-reconnect facility in v7 & move determination of reason code out of the app. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
zpat wrote: |
However we have to code our MQ client apps to programmatically retry connections on RC 2059 |
Or code them to use the auto-reconnect facility in v7 & move determination of reason code out of the app. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 4:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
Yes, an MQ Client at MQ 7 (doesn't matter what the MQ server is) will return other more specific reason codes as appropriate instead of always the "generic" 2059. |
So an MQ v6 client is unaffected by this, even when connected to a WMQ v7 queue manager?
I am hoping to avoid any code changes on existing WMQ v6 client applications. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|