Author |
Message
|
Mqlsn |
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 6:00 am Post subject: Cobol stored procedure deals with MQ |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 28 Jul 2010 Posts: 11
|
Hi,
I have a requirement to code a COBOL stored procedure called by a listener and the procedure has to put back the result to the queue. I am not aware of the MQ db2 functions for connect, open, put, disconnect.
If anyone have coded such a SP kindly give me the inputs. Also please provide me any material for programming guidance.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 6:15 am Post subject: Re: Cobol stored procedure deals with MQ |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
Mqlsn wrote: |
I am not aware of the MQ db2 functions for connect, open, put, disconnect. |
First look in the install directories, and in the product manuals.
MQ and DB2 both arrive on your machine (I assume you have access to a machine where they are installed) with well-commented sample source code. The MQ and DB2 manuals describe how to do things, and how to use the samples.
Read up on the subject, then you may have some further questions. At that point, please post again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mqlsn |
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 6:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 28 Jul 2010 Posts: 11
|
Is the commands same that we use for cobol program.
Because in the cobol we use the system load modules like CSQBCONN which are defined in a JCL.
We cant do the same with stored procedure.. Also i dun have any manuals . If u have kindly gimme the link
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mvic |
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 6:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 2080
|
Mqlsn wrote: |
If u have kindly gimme the link
Thanks |
Search the internet, search the ibm.com web site. There is also a link at the top of these mqseries.net web pages. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mqlsn |
Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 12:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 28 Jul 2010 Posts: 11
|
Hi, I m using CSQBCONN and other defined functions for dynamic connection to MQ using stored proc. But how to supply the pds that has this fucntion to a stored proc. If a cobol program we use to supply it in a JCL.. Are there anyway to put messages from a cobol stored proc. please clarify  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
I would have expected this to be handled in a complete different way...
Think CICS and or IMS...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
But how to supply the pds that has this fucntion to a stored proc. |
I'm guessing that you are not a mainframe person.
Briefly: usually, the JCL submitted (that executes the application) will contain a STEPLIB or JOBLIB DD statement to identify the pds where CSQBCONN can be found.
If not in the JCL, then the pds must be in the linklist concatenation.
There is a search order for datasets. Contact your system programmer. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mqlsn |
Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 28 Jul 2010 Posts: 11
|
How to put it in the Linklist? Because we use changeman to compile, link edit .. Please help |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Linklst is managed by your systems programmers. Linklst has nothing to do with compiles. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mqlsn |
Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 28 Jul 2010 Posts: 11
|
OK Thank u. will check abt it..
Also please clarify me this doubt. I use MQCONN to connect to MQ from the cobol stored proc. SO I think we need to link edit the (CSQBRSTB or CSQBRRSI) instead of CSQBSTUB. IF i change this will it work? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 6:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Will RRS be the transaction manager for application updates? If so, you will need the appropriate stub linked into the executable. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 6:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|