Author |
Message
|
bjr149 |
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:52 am Post subject: COBOL and Remote Queues |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Mar 2010 Posts: 22
|
I have a QM hosted on a different server than I am running the AS 400. So I just configure a remote queue on the 400 and just have the COBOL code just use that remote queue?
What I'm saying is that for COBOL you do not reference the server name when establishing the connection but you just setup the queue on the server the cobol is running as a remote queue not a local queue.
Correct? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You can not establish a client connection from AS400.
You can not issue MQGET against a QREMOTE.
Other than that, it's exactly like talking to a local queue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bjr149 |
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Mar 2010 Posts: 22
|
"You can not issue MQGET against a QREMOTE. "
What is the point then if you can't have 2 way communication. It seems it would only be usefull to put the data to another system to process. Is this only on the 400 remote queues? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Quote: |
What I'm saying is that for COBOL you do not reference the server name when establishing the connection but you just setup the queue on the server the cobol is running as a remote queue not a local queue. |
Since the as/400 cannot be a client, you need to have a sender-reciever (or other) channel to connect the qmgr where your app is executing - to the qmgr that hosts the destination queue.
This is referred to as distributed queuing, and is well-documented in the WMQ manuals. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Your QLOCAL is their QREMOTE. Your QREMOTE is their QLOCAL.
You issue MQGET against your qlocal and MQPUT against to your QREMOTE.
This is MQ 101. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 8:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
mqjeff wrote: |
You can not establish a client connection from AS400. |
Jeff, should that be tempered with
You cannot establish a client connection from AS400 in any language other than Java? Or would the qmgr (if running on AS400) need like on zOS a client attachment facility?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 1:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
You can not establish a client connection from AS400. |
Jeff, should that be tempered with
You cannot establish a client connection from AS400 in any language other than Java? Or would the qmgr (if running on AS400) need like on zOS a client attachment facility?  |
There is no CAF for iSeries. CAF would only allow for other apps to establish a client connection INTO the AS400.
Yes, java is an exception here. But we're talking COBOL. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Both WMQ on iSeries and WMQ on z/OS are server-only. Neither can be a client. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
Both WMQ on iSeries and WMQ on z/OS are server-only. Neither can be a client. |
Except from Java. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|