ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » Websphere MQ - problem with triggerring

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Websphere MQ - problem with triggerring « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
chitra J
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:37 am    Post subject: Websphere MQ - problem with triggerring Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 08 Mar 2010
Posts: 2

Hi,

we have configured a new request queue for an application to 'put' request messages in our queue. We have recieved the request in our request queue but unable to process it.

Our request queue is associated with a process name and the process is assoicated with a transaction name in 'application id' field. transaction is in turn associated with a application Cobol program.

when a message hits the request queue, the program associated with the transaction is called then performs 'EXEC CICS RETRIEVE' command to retrieve the queue attributes. At this point the program abends with AEI2 and hence message is left back in the request queue without getting processed.

upon analysis, we see that the basic MQ structure which is being used from a standard copy book has values as 'spaces' when used in our program.

10 MQTM.
15 MQTM-STRUCID PIC X(4).
15 MQTM-VERSION PIC S9(9) BINARY.
15 MQTM-QNAME PIC X(4. - values are substituted as 'spaces'
15 MQTM-PROCESSNAME PIC X(4.
15 MQTM-TRIGGERDATA PIC X(64).
15 MQTM-APPLTYPE PIC S9(9) BINARY.
15 MQTM-APPLID PIC X(256).
15 MQTM-ENVDATA PIC X(128).
15 MQTM-USERDATA PIC X(128).

According to my understanding

When a transaction is started as a result of a trigger message, details of the trigger message are passed into the transaction. The transaction obtains the data using the EXEC CICS RETRIEVE command.

This process is not happening properly in our test environment, could somebody help me resolve this issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr Butcher
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 1716

Do you use CKTI as trigger monitor? Or do you start your transaction manually for testing ?!?

Try something like this

Code:

       A-MAIN SECTION.
      *
      * CHECK IF WE HAVE BEEN STARTED BY CKTI WITH DATA
      *
           EXEC CICS ASSIGN
               STARTCODE(CIC-STARTCODE)
           END-EXEC.
      *
           IF CIC-STARTCODE NOT = "SD"
              MOVE "PROGRAM NOT STARTED BY CKTI WITH DATA"
                 TO PGM-MSG
              PERFORM PGM-MESSAGE
              EXEC CICS RETURN END-EXEC
           END-IF.
      *
      * GET VALUES PASSED FROM CKTI
      *
           EXEC CICS RETRIEVE INTO(MQTM) END-EXEC.
      *
      * .......

_________________
Regards, Butcher
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chitra J
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 08 Mar 2010
Posts: 2

Thanks for your response, we use CKTI as default monitor transaction.

Something that is concerning me is same set up works fine in our development region, but doesent work in test region. development and test region uses same MQ manager. Queues and transcations are different (has different names which are cloned from development objects). Does this have something to with transaction definition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

chitra J wrote:
Thanks for your response, we use CKTI as default monitor transaction.

Something that is concerning me is same set up works fine in our development region, but doesn't work in test region. development and test region uses same MQ manager. Queues and transactions are different (has different names which are cloned from development objects). Does this have something to with transaction definition?

I hope you have (at least) one CKTI process running for each environment.
Also make sure the trigger queue used by each CKTI and environment is different.

Be very careful with the cloning of the queues or you'll end up triggering in the wrong environment.
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Installation/Configuration Support » Websphere MQ - problem with triggerring
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.