ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Can I call a submap from a Java compute node?

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Can I call a submap from a Java compute node? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
eli_lato
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:48 am    Post subject: Can I call a submap from a Java compute node? Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 07 Mar 2010
Posts: 5

I see that I can call a submap from ESQL. Can I also call a submap from a Java compute node?

I want my Java compute node to do 4 things:
1 Map and convert fields from my input message to a String that I will send to CICS as a commarea.
2 Call CICS and pass it this commarea.
3 Get CICS's response from the commarea and map and convert fields from this response to my output message.
4 Copy parts of the input messsage to my output message.

The goal is to avoid having to map and convert all those tricky binary/packed/signed fields in Java. Instead, I want an MB submap to do all the dirty work. So I want to call this submap as a function.

Any ideas? One Java example is worth a page of explanations.
Thanks,
Eli
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
broker_new
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 30 Nov 2006
Posts: 614
Location: Washington DC

do like this,

1. Create a Subflow with Java compute Node to call CICS.
2. Convert the MRM to String in JCN and using eciRequest call CICS.
3. Convert the Commarea to bytes and propagate to out terminal.
4. Wire a RCD to parse it to MRM again.
5. This way you can re use the subflow for all the CICS calls.
_________________
IBM ->Let's build a smarter planet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqjeff
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

While that answers some question, it doesn't answer the question asked.

I'm fairly certain that even in v7 the answer to this is No. Maps are converted into compiled ESQl and there isn't a good way to call an ESQL procedure from the MbJava API.

It'd be better to call the map directly from a mapping node, and then pass the resulting tree to the JCN that could talk to CICS. Then all the CICS JCN has to know how to do is call CICS and not do anything fancy.

And you can wrap that JCN in a subflow that accepts a BLOB input message that can be turned into a "string" for calling CICS, so your subflow doesn't have to know how to serialize any random input tree into a BLOB or a String.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eli_lato
PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 4:29 am    Post subject: Fast responses and good ones! Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 07 Mar 2010
Posts: 5

That was fast and helpful. Thanks to you both!
Eli
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Can I call a submap from a Java compute node?
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.