ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » using namelist in MQ

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 using namelist in MQ « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
limboonlee
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 2:41 am    Post subject: using namelist in MQ Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Apr 2009
Posts: 12

Hi everyone,

I have been trying to find out how to use the Namelist object in MQSeries. Can someone help to point me to some documents or tell me here?

I need to send 1 msg to 2 diff queues. I had created a Namelist object in the Qmgr. Then I am stuck. How do I proceed from here?

==========

dis namelist(TEST_NL)
6 : dis namelist(TEST_NL)
AMQ8550: Display namelist details.
NAMELIST(TEST_NL) NAMCOUNT(3)
NAMES(TEST.HTD
,TEST2.HTD) DESCR( )
ALTDATE(2010-03-02) ALTTIME(17.40.19)


==========

Do I have to change my codes (java) to use the namelist?
If not, what should I do to send the msg to the 2 queues in the NAMES parameters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nathanw
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Posts: 550

try searching on the site for namelists or try reading here

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv6/v6r0/index.jsp
_________________
Who is General Failure and why is he reading my hard drive?

Artificial Intelligence stands no chance against Natural Stupidity.

Only the User Trace Speaks The Truth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
mqjeff
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

Just use pub/sub instead of building an application level namelist.

send your message to a topic instead of a queue and register subscriptions to the queues that need to get the message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shashivarungupta
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 1343
Location: Floating in space on a round rock.

Original Poster: pub sub, if you are using then check the docs./redbook of mqv7.0 for that. (If you are using v7.0 or advanced, Now pub/sub functionality is the part of mq then the broker. )
_________________
*Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zonko
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 04 Nov 2009
Posts: 78

There is a namelist sample application, called amqsptl0.c.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limboonlee
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Apr 2009
Posts: 12

I am using MQ6. Also, this is a temporary setup, as the UAT needs to connect to 2 diff environments for testing. For rollout to production, will not need this setup.

So from the replies, I am assuming that the usage of the namelist is not as simple as using it directly like writing to a queue.
It would require code changes to read out the NAMES values and then write to the queue.

If this is the case, I cannot use this namelist to send to multiple queues as my UAT code cannot be changed when promoting to PROD.

Any other people had the same problem and manage to solve it using another method?

Thanks a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shashivarungupta
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 1343
Location: Floating in space on a round rock.

limboonlee wrote:
..as the UAT needs to connect to 2 diff environments for testing. For rollout to production, will not need this setup.

Generally what we do in the lower environments we take it to the production env. !! anyways...
limboonlee wrote:

So from the replies, I am assuming that the usage of the namelist is not as simple as using it directly like writing to a queue.

Its all on you that how much you have understood the namelist !
BTW your problem is to send same message in diff. queues at the same time, by using pubsub you can do that easily as suggested by posters.
Loadsharing, if you are thinking then you can achieve it using mq clusters and namelist.

limboonlee wrote:
If this is the case, I cannot use this namelist to send to multiple queues as my UAT code cannot be changed when promoting to PROD.

you said above that "For rollout to production, will not need this setup.".
Please clarify !

_________________
*Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

shashivarungupta wrote:
...you said above that "For rollout to production, will not need this setup.".
Please clarify !


Which bit of "For rollout to production, will not need this setup." did you not understand? It is not unusual for an organisation to have multiple concurrent testing environments, and message 'splitting' as a requirement.

limboonlee,

I suggest that as this is a temporary requirement, and therefore you will not want to change the code, you look at the MirrorQ exit or Cressida's SynQuest (as with Vitor, no endorsement or liability implied etc. etc.)
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shashivarungupta
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 1343
Location: Floating in space on a round rock.

exerk wrote:
shashivarungupta wrote:
...you said above that "For rollout to production, will not need this setup.".
Please clarify !


Which bit of "For rollout to production, will not need this setup." did you not understand? It is not unusual for an organisation to have multiple concurrent testing environments, and message 'splitting' as a requirement.


I thought he meant to say that, that the scenario he is testing in UAT, is not going to have in production and I know simultaneously testing at diff. environments (specially UAT and Prod. ) is not usual in any organization.

_________________
*Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
limboonlee
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Apr 2009
Posts: 12

Hi,

Thanks for all the replies.

I think I will use the MirrorQ method.

However, browsing through th web, I only manage to find a MirrorQ for MQv5.3. and I tried on the MQv6 with no success.

Is there a place that I can download the MirrorQ for Solaris MQv6?

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

limboonlee wrote:
Is there a place that I can download the MirrorQ for Solaris MQv6?


The MirrorQ code is only a sample - recompile it for your environment.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3252
Location: London, ON Canada

Hi,

You may be interested in MMX (Message Multiplexer). It is easier to setup and control than mirrorq. (i.e. you don't need to restart your queue manager.)

The free open source MMX project is located at:
http://www.capitalware.biz/mmx_overview.html

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc.
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cspodapati
PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 12 Jan 2010
Posts: 20

Why cont you use distribution list to send to multiple destinations
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limboonlee
PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 29 Apr 2009
Posts: 12

cspodapati wrote:
Why cont you use distribution list to send to multiple destinations


I cannot use distribution list as it would require changes to the code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » using namelist in MQ
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.