Author |
Message
|
limboonlee |
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 2:41 am Post subject: using namelist in MQ |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 Apr 2009 Posts: 12
|
Hi everyone,
I have been trying to find out how to use the Namelist object in MQSeries. Can someone help to point me to some documents or tell me here?
I need to send 1 msg to 2 diff queues. I had created a Namelist object in the Qmgr. Then I am stuck. How do I proceed from here?
==========
dis namelist(TEST_NL)
6 : dis namelist(TEST_NL)
AMQ8550: Display namelist details.
NAMELIST(TEST_NL) NAMCOUNT(3)
NAMES(TEST.HTD
,TEST2.HTD) DESCR( )
ALTDATE(2010-03-02) ALTTIME(17.40.19)
==========
Do I have to change my codes (java) to use the namelist?
If not, what should I do to send the msg to the 2 queues in the NAMES parameters. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 4:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Just use pub/sub instead of building an application level namelist.
send your message to a topic instead of a queue and register subscriptions to the queues that need to get the message. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Original Poster: pub sub, if you are using then check the docs./redbook of mqv7.0 for that. (If you are using v7.0 or advanced, Now pub/sub functionality is the part of mq then the broker. ) _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zonko |
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 5:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 04 Nov 2009 Posts: 78
|
There is a namelist sample application, called amqsptl0.c. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
limboonlee |
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 Apr 2009 Posts: 12
|
I am using MQ6. Also, this is a temporary setup, as the UAT needs to connect to 2 diff environments for testing. For rollout to production, will not need this setup.
So from the replies, I am assuming that the usage of the namelist is not as simple as using it directly like writing to a queue.
It would require code changes to read out the NAMES values and then write to the queue.
If this is the case, I cannot use this namelist to send to multiple queues as my UAT code cannot be changed when promoting to PROD.
Any other people had the same problem and manage to solve it using another method?
Thanks a lot. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
limboonlee wrote: |
..as the UAT needs to connect to 2 diff environments for testing. For rollout to production, will not need this setup. |
Generally what we do in the lower environments we take it to the production env. !! anyways...
limboonlee wrote: |
So from the replies, I am assuming that the usage of the namelist is not as simple as using it directly like writing to a queue. |
Its all on you that how much you have understood the namelist !
BTW your problem is to send same message in diff. queues at the same time, by using pubsub you can do that easily as suggested by posters.
Loadsharing, if you are thinking then you can achieve it using mq clusters and namelist.
limboonlee wrote: |
If this is the case, I cannot use this namelist to send to multiple queues as my UAT code cannot be changed when promoting to PROD. |
you said above that "For rollout to production, will not need this setup.".
Please clarify !
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
...you said above that "For rollout to production, will not need this setup.".
Please clarify !
 |
Which bit of "For rollout to production, will not need this setup." did you not understand? It is not unusual for an organisation to have multiple concurrent testing environments, and message 'splitting' as a requirement.
limboonlee,
I suggest that as this is a temporary requirement, and therefore you will not want to change the code, you look at the MirrorQ exit or Cressida's SynQuest (as with Vitor, no endorsement or liability implied etc. etc.) _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 1:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
exerk wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
...you said above that "For rollout to production, will not need this setup.".
Please clarify !
 |
Which bit of "For rollout to production, will not need this setup." did you not understand? It is not unusual for an organisation to have multiple concurrent testing environments, and message 'splitting' as a requirement.
|
I thought he meant to say that, that the scenario he is testing in UAT, is not going to have in production and I know simultaneously testing at diff. environments (specially UAT and Prod. ) is not usual in any organization.
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
limboonlee |
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 Apr 2009 Posts: 12
|
Hi,
Thanks for all the replies.
I think I will use the MirrorQ method.
However, browsing through th web, I only manage to find a MirrorQ for MQv5.3. and I tried on the MQv6 with no success.
Is there a place that I can download the MirrorQ for Solaris MQv6?
Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 6:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
limboonlee wrote: |
Is there a place that I can download the MirrorQ for Solaris MQv6? |
The MirrorQ code is only a sample - recompile it for your environment. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cspodapati |
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 12 Jan 2010 Posts: 20
|
Why cont you use distribution list to send to multiple destinations |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
limboonlee |
Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 Apr 2009 Posts: 12
|
cspodapati wrote: |
Why cont you use distribution list to send to multiple destinations |
I cannot use distribution list as it would require changes to the code. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|