Author |
Message
|
J.D |
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:44 am Post subject: MQ Header |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 18 Dec 2009 Posts: 92 Location: United States
|
Present Scenario: C++ application puts messages on Mainframe MQ v5.3 and CICS app is receiving with no issues.
Requirement: Java app has to send to same mainframe queue and same CICS application should process the messages.
CICS is not updating the messages (from Java) in their tables where as C++ data is reflecting in tables.
I found the difference in format name when i compared message put by C++ and Java:
C++: MQCICS
Java: MQHRF2
What changes has to be made in application so that we get MQCICS as format name? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:09 am Post subject: Re: MQ Header |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
J.D wrote: |
What changes has to be made in application so that we get MQCICS as format name? |
Add the CICS header to the Java message. Just updating the format string isn't enough by itself....
Seriously, the format string only describes the section that follows, so for Java it's indicating that the next section is an RFH2 header. If you look in the RFH2, you'll see that the format shown there describes the message format (typically string).
If you look in the C++ message you'll see the next section is the CICS header and the format shown there either indicates an RFH2 (if present) or the message format. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
J.D |
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 18 Dec 2009 Posts: 92 Location: United States
|
I'm helping out an application guy who doesn't have much experience in sending messages to Mainframe Queue. It would be great if you can help how to add CICS header in message?
Thank You. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 11:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
J.D wrote: |
I'm helping out an application guy who doesn't have much experience in sending messages to Mainframe Queue. It would be great if you can help how to add CICS header in message? |
As you're new to the forum, you don't know that I'm the last person to ask about Java coding issues!
The CICS header is documented in the Application Programming Reference, which is in the product InfoCenter (link at the top of this page). That should give you some insights until a qualified Java poster responds. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 2:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
If you are posting the message using JMS you need to read the specifics for CICS. I believe you need to use a MapMessage.
You probably should also set the destination JNDI for targetClient to MQ (suppressing the RFH header)
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|