ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » error

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 error « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Goodfellas
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:34 pm    Post subject: error Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 26 Feb 2009
Posts: 70

Thanks.

Last edited by Goodfellas on Tue May 28, 2013 12:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Truth 1: It's TCP/IP and it breaks, period.

Truth 2: It's an application responsibility to code reconnect on drop (caveat: sub-version 7.0*).

The TCP/IP logs may tell you why the connection broke, but may not. It is NOT a good idea to use the SYSTEM.DEF.SVRCONN; define a user-specific SVRCONN and lock it down. If you are using sub-version 7.0, change your application code to ensure it picks up, and deals appropriately with, MQRC 2009.

* The enhancements in V7.0 allow for the MQ Client to automatically reconnect on failure, thereby abstracting that function from application code.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goodfellas
PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 26 Feb 2009
Posts: 70

Thanks

Last edited by Goodfellas on Tue May 28, 2013 12:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Each MQ call from the client app returns a Reason and Completion code. The application needs to trap each Reason and Completion, and code the appropriate action.

The WMQ APR manual itemizes each Reason/Completion code possible for each MQ call.

The appropriate action if the connection is lost would be to re-issue the MQCONN call.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goodfellas
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 26 Feb 2009
Posts: 70

.

Thanks


Last edited by Goodfellas on Tue May 28, 2013 12:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goodfellas
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 26 Feb 2009
Posts: 70

Thanks

Last edited by Goodfellas on Tue May 28, 2013 12:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Quote:
An error occurred receiving data from 'Server4 (10.15.14.' over TCP/IP.
The connection to the remote host has unexpectedly terminated.
ACTION:
Tell the systems administrator.
=============================================
...
Why the App is getting disconnected when there is No Network Errors or fluctuations?

Huh? Clearly, WMQ detected a tcp failure.[/quote]
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Goodfellas wrote:
Why the App is getting disconnected when there is No Network Errors or fluctuations?


How can you say there are no network errors when there's a TCP/IP error in the log? Just because it's running on the same box doesn't mean there isn't a stack problem....
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goodfellas
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 26 Feb 2009
Posts: 70

Thanks

Last edited by Goodfellas on Tue May 28, 2013 12:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9469
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Quote:
The "Connection is at the QMgr level" rite?. When the Application gets 2009 Connection Broken Error...the Application should totally disconnect from MQ rite?

Yes, connections are to a qmgr. The 2009 r/c indicates that the connection is already broken; that is, the application is already disconnected from the queue manager.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

bruce2359 wrote:
Quote:
The "Connection is at the QMgr level" rite?. When the Application gets 2009 Connection Broken Error...the Application should totally disconnect from MQ rite?

Yes, connections are to a qmgr. The 2009 r/c indicates that the connection is already broken; that is, the application is already disconnected from the queue manager.

As apparently the app and the qmgr are running on the same machine, I would suggest you review your code. It looks like your are trying to reuse a connection handle that is in an illegal state (closed)?
Although I thought that the error code would be a little different....

The other scenario where I imagine this could happen is if you are reaching the max allowed channels and cannot establish a new connection... until one frees up. Check your qmgr settings for max channels and max active channels.

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » error
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.