Author |
Message
|
sbbdev |
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:47 pm Post subject: Calling Oracle Procedure from MQ |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Sep 2008 Posts: 18
|
Dears,
I have an oracle stored procedure which accepts an input, and returns a value and error description.
I was wondering whether it is possible to call this procedure using ESQL from MQ, and use the returned value in my code. How is this achievable?
Thanks, and regards, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gaya3 |
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:33 pm Post subject: Re: Calling Oracle Procedure from MQ |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 12 Sep 2006 Posts: 2493 Location: Boston, US
|
sbbdev wrote: |
Dears,
II was wondering whether it is possible to call this procedure using ESQL from MQ, and use the returned value in my code. How is this achievable?
|
ESQL from MQ - not at all possible
ESQL from MB - its very much possible.
MQ and MB itself is different, so please clear on your side first _________________ Regards
Gayathri
-----------------------------------------------
Do Something Before you Die |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sbbdev |
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Sep 2008 Posts: 18
|
Thanks for the reply,
well I meant calling the procedure using the MQ message broker.
Regards |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
sbbdev wrote: |
Thanks for the reply,
well I meant calling the procedure using the MQ message broker.
Regards |
I assume you You mean Websphere Message Broker. In which case this would have been better posted in the Brokers forum. That aside...
Look at Creating a procedure in your ESQL module with a Language of database and specify an external name. You can then call this as you would any other procedure from within your ESQL code.
Searches on keywords from the previous paragraph should prove fruitful. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Moving to WMB/mqsi forum  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sbbdev |
Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Sep 2008 Posts: 18
|
Hi all,
I did a search, and couldn't get much info on how to call the oracle store procedure (which is in the database) from the websphere message broker.
any specific links or sample code pls ?
sorry but i am newbie to this.
Regards |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gregop |
Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 24 Nov 2006 Posts: 81
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sbbdev |
Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Sep 2008 Posts: 18
|
Thanks gregop and WMBDEV1..
I might haven't been soo clear in my description.
I do not need to create a procedure in esql. I need to call a stored procedure which is in an oracle database.
for example, i have a node in the message broker pointing to a database x, how can i call a stored procedure in this database using ESQL.
I hope i am clear now.
Regards, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gaya3 |
Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 12 Sep 2006 Posts: 2493 Location: Boston, US
|
sbbdev wrote: |
Thanks gregop and WMBDEV1..
I might haven't been soo clear in my description.
I do not need to create a procedure in esql. I need to call a stored procedure which is in an oracle database.
for example, i have a node in the message broker pointing to a database x, how can i call a stored procedure in this database using ESQL.
I hope i am clear now.
Regards, |
you still didnt go through the link what WMBDEV1 suggested. _________________ Regards
Gayathri
-----------------------------------------------
Do Something Before you Die |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
sbbdev wrote: |
Thanks gregop and WMBDEV1..
I might haven't been soo clear in my description.
I do not need to create a procedure in esql. I need to call a stored procedure which is in an oracle database.
for example, i have a node in the message broker pointing to a database x, how can i call a stored procedure in this database using ESQL.
I hope i am clear now.
Regards, |
Very clear in your contradiction yes:
Quote: |
I do not need to create a procedure in esql. I need to call a stored procedure which is in an oracle database. |
Quote: |
how can i call a stored procedure in this database using ESQL |
I hope that reading the documentation you realized that in order to call a database procedure you had to create a procedure stub for it in ESQL!  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
sbbdev wrote: |
I do not need to create a procedure in esql.
|
Yes you do. This will allow you to achieve this....
Quote: |
I need to call a stored procedure which is in an oracle database.
|
If you have read the two links provided and still do not understand what you need to do, it may be time to book that training course you've always wanted. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|