Author |
Message
|
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:55 am Post subject: Access remote Qmgrs fro within a flow |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
From within a Message Flow is there a way to read from a queue inside of a queue manager hosted on another machine
Also, is there a way to write to a queue on a queue manager hosted by another machine (other than sending it via a transmission queue) ?
I do not see any options on MQInput and MQOutput that would allow this
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:02 am Post subject: Re: Access remote Qmgrs fro within a flow |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Gideon wrote: |
From within a Message Flow is there a way to read from a queue inside of a queue manager hosted on another machine |
No.
Gideon wrote: |
Also, is there a way to write to a queue on a queue manager hosted by another machine (other than sending it via a transmission queue) ? |
No. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
Well.....
Using client connections it is possible. Its possible to use a client connection to connect to the QM on the remote machine to then read / write messages as needed.
You could do this within a JCN for example. If you wanted. As to why you want to do this, thats another question! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
WMBDEV1 wrote: |
You could do this within a JCN for example. |
What else could you do it with? Even with a JCN, wouldn't you hit problems with the connections and the threading? I suspect I've fallen off the edge of my Java knowledge again.
WMBDEV1 wrote: |
If you wanted. As to why you want to do this, thats another question! |
Well quite. I'm pleased to finally understand and agree with a point you're making!
It's an odd and possibly dangerous thing to be doing. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
WMBDEV1 wrote: |
Well.....
Using client connections it is possible. Its possible to use a client connection to connect to the QM on the remote machine to then read / write messages as needed.
You could do this within a JCN for example. If you wanted. As to why you want to do this, thats another question! |
As to why, basically I was assigned to perform the architechture that way.
by JCN, do you mean the Java Compute Node ?
So that I can discuss with the architech, I need to ask a question regarding client mode v server mode
If I access a remote Qmgr from a client connection. How much slower is that configuration than putting the WMB on the same machine as the Qmgr that is being accessed ?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
WMBDEV1 wrote: |
by JCN, do you mean the Java Compute Node ?
|
EDIT, missed of the key bit: "Yes"
Quote: |
If I access a remote Qmgr from a client connection. How much slower is that configuration than putting the WMB on the same machine as the Qmgr that is being accessed ?
|
Its not just a question of performance. You now potentially have two resource managers in your transaction (the broker QM and the remote QM). Ensuring these are kept in synch (ie both commit / rollback) is now more difficult.
You have still not convinced me that you need to be able to write directly to the remote QM.
Last edited by WMBDEV1 on Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:27 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gideon |
Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 18 Aug 2009 Posts: 403
|
Quote: |
You have still not convinced me that you need to be able to write directly to the remote QM. |
I probably do not need to do this, just in a research mode right now.
BTW, I did not understand your last post, By JCN, do you mean Java Compute Node ?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Gideon wrote: |
If I access a remote Qmgr from a client connection. How much slower is that configuration than putting the WMB on the same machine as the Qmgr that is being accessed ?
|
Never mind the performance difference (which is worse than bindings but not much), the question is what do you do if the client connection drops? Bad on a get, worse for a put as all of the error handling will be on you - the WMB facilities expect a binding connection so all the flows that use this method must handle all possible consequences manually.
That will significantly increase development & testing. It will also increase the trouble when something goes wrong as your admins will need to unravel it. Somehow. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rbicheno |
Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jul 2009 Posts: 43
|
Another option is You can use the JMS nodes with WMQ as the JMS providers to put/get messages with a remote QM. This is much less work than than using a JCN. Personally i would stick with remote q defs and transmission queues. This will perform best. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|