Author |
Message
|
jarun111 |
Posted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:42 pm Post subject: Big messages and performance impact |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 Posts: 70
|
Hi,
Need your expertise on the below.
I have a application that needs to send 20MB messages to a queue manager that is shared across with different users(who send smaller messages). We are all using the same SVRCONN channel. Want to understand what will be the perfromance impact for other users when I am sending huge messages to the qeuue manager. Will the other user message be blocked while I am sending those through those channels (which has 20MB max msg limit)? Will having multiple svrconn channels help so that I can use a different channle from other users thereby minimizing the impact to their message flow? Please provide your inputs on the performance impact and how can it be minimized.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 4:03 pm Post subject: Re: Big messages and performance impact |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
jarun111 wrote: |
Will the other user message be blocked while I am sending those through those channels (which has 20MB max msg limit)? |
No, not if they are running on a separately connected instance of the channel.
All MQ channels compete for network resources and capacity, so its possible they may see some degradation, depending on message volumes and rates.
Quote: |
Will having multiple svrconn channels help so that I can use a different channle from other users thereby minimizing the impact to their message flow? |
No. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
You should see little impact on a svrconn channel.
But if those big messages are sent from qmgr to qmgr you should plan on creating a specific channel for those big messages. This will allow small / faster messages to take a different channel instead of waiting until the big message is done crossing the channel.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jarun111 |
Posted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 Posts: 70
|
Thanks team. Can I conclude that having 2 svrconn channels on the same QMGR will not help much to send big messages on channel1 and small messages on channel2. They will still impact the clients who are sending smaller messages.
If this is the case we will ask our admin to build a new QMGR for the big messages. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Why?
You can have different QM to QM channels between the same pair of queue managers simply using different transmit queues and channels.
No need to separate queue managers. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
jarun111 wrote: |
If this is the case we will ask our admin to build a new QMGR for the big messages. |
I'd think very carefully about this. The new queue manager will take resource which could be more profitably used running client connections on your existing queue manager. You're also going to have to move those messages from this new queue manager to their destination which will require specific changes as my most worthy associate detailed in his earlier post.
I'd certainly do some stress testing to see if mixing messages on the same queue manager will cause as much problem as you fear it will. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jarun111 |
Posted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 Posts: 70
|
Thanks team.
One more question:
To increase the queue manager/channel maxmsgl do we need to restart the queue manager and the channel?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
jarun111 wrote: |
To increase the queue manager/channel maxmsgl do we need to restart the queue manager and the channel? |
Queue manager yes, but only if the new MAXMSGL exceeds the current setting. Channel yes, and bear in mind that you may have to redistribute a CCDT file (if using one). _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sumit |
Posted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 398
|
exerk wrote: |
Queue manager yes, but only if the new MAXMSGL exceeds the current setting. |
Wondering if queue manager needs to be restarted . I think it's the connecting application that needs a restart so that it can take new values. _________________ Regards
Sumit |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
sumit wrote: |
exerk wrote: |
Queue manager yes, but only if the new MAXMSGL exceeds the current setting. |
Wondering if queue manager needs to be restarted . I think it's the connecting application that needs a restart so that it can take new values. |
Scenario:
1. Queue manager MAXMSGL is set to 4MB, but application tries to pass 8MB - Question: will it work?
2. Queue manager MQXMSGL altered to 8MB, the queue manager is NOT restarted, but the application is - Question: What difference does it make? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sumit |
Posted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 19 Jan 2006 Posts: 398
|
exerk wrote: |
1. Queue manager MAXMSGL is set to 4MB, but application tries to pass 8MB - Question: will it work? |
No
exerk wrote: |
2. Queue manager MQXMSGL altered to 8MB, the queue manager is NOT restarted, but the application is - Question: What difference does it make? |
Application will able to put message.
There could be various applications interacting with the queue manager and may be none except one requires message with size bigger than 4 MB.
Starting queue manager will disrupt the all applications.
Starting only application concerned will enable it to process big messages. _________________ Regards
Sumit |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
All changes made by ALTER QMGR take immediate effect on the queue manager.
All changes made to qm.ini (or windows equivalent) require a qmgr restart.
All changes made during an active application connection will not cause any change within the application connection. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
mqjeff wrote: |
All changes made by ALTER QMGR take immediate effect on the queue manager. |
Doh! I've just (re)read what I'd written  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|