Author |
Message
|
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:21 am Post subject: MBFE: Write multiple copybook records to file |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
Hi.
I'm new to MBFE (and copybook, and WMB, and ...) and I'm having a little trouble for which I cannot find the solution in the MBFE manuals or on the web.
I am reading a CSV file, and transforming it into a copybook format file. I am running WMB 6.0 with MBFE 5.
I am running into the following issues:
1. I am using Input Propagation Policy = record by record, because as soon as I build a copy book structure containing multiple records in the OutputRoot.MRM, only the first record gets written to file. I want to use the whole file setting. Can anybody tell me what I am doing wrong, or where to find a solution?
2. I have tried to define a TDS format and map it onto a message type so that I can let the built in parsers do the dirty work of slicing up the CSV input file, but for the life of me I cannot figure out how to get this to work. So in stead I've had to write some really ugly ESQL code that does the slicing. Does anyone know of a simple howto/tutorial/example/case where CSV is read and transformed to - well, anything, but preferably CPY? One where they give me all the settings and some ESQL code as well?
Thanks in advance for your advice.
Gr, Gr. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Have you read the tutorial available via the 'sticky' post at the top of this forum? That will help you a lot in sorting out your message model
I can't quite understand this bit in your post
Quote: |
I am using Input Propagation Policy = record by record, because as soon as I build a copy book structure containing multiple records in the OutputRoot.MRM, only the first record gets written to file. I want to use the whole file setting. Can anybody tell me what I am doing wrong, or where to find a solution?
|
Can you post an example of what your output tree looks like from a TraceNode placed just before the MBFE FileOUtputNode. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
Have you read the tutorial available via the 'sticky' post at the top of this forum? |
Yes, the tutorial contained useful information. I haven't got (2) to work just yet, but I think I'll drop the issue now.
smdavies99 wrote: |
Can you post an example of what your output tree looks like from a TraceNode placed just before the MBFE FileOUtputNode |
Coming up:
Code: |
(0x01000021):MRM = ( ['mrm' : 0x3950344]
(0x01000000):RECORD = (
(0x01000000):RECORD_ID_X = (
(0x03000000):RECORD_ID = 1 (INTEGER)
)
(0x03000000):RECORD_EXT_KEY = '8' (CHARACTER)
)
(0x01000000):RECORD = (
(0x01000000):RECORD_ID_X = (
(0x03000000):RECORD_ID = 63 (INTEGER)
)
(0x03000000):RECORD_EXT_KEY = '123456789 WAT EEN VREEMDE' (CHARACTER)
)
(0x01000000):RECORD = (
(0x01000000):RECORD_ID_X = (
(0x03000000):RECORD_ID = 65 (INTEGER)
)
(0x03000000):RECORD_EXT_KEY = '234567890 KAASBALLETJES ZIJN LEKK' (CHARACTER)
)
(0x01000000):RECORD = (
(0x01000000):RECORD_ID_X = (
(0x03000000):RECORD_ID = 66 (INTEGER)
)
(0x03000000):RECORD_EXT_KEY = '345678901' (CHARACTER)
)
)
|
I am copying the OutputLocalEnvironment from the InputLocalEnvironment.
Only the first record is written to the output file. I am fairly sure I am missing something very obvious, but I've been staring at the documentation for days now, and I'm afraid I simply can't hack it without outside help...
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
somsayan |
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 06 Apr 2007 Posts: 49
|
What is the current broker fixpack that has been installed in your system? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
somsayan wrote: |
What is the current broker fixpack that has been installed in your system? |
WMB runtime shows as 6.0.0.9, and the toolkit shows 6.0.2. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
Status update:
I've accepted the fact that I can - for some reason - not access the entire content of the file and then write to output the entire batch of resulting records in a single propagate. A bit of a shame that. In stead, I've programmed the flow to log just the first and the last record. I'm still looking for an answer to the problem though; it would be nice to know how. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
somsayan |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 06 Apr 2007 Posts: 49
|
There are few cases in which this can happen, as far as i know.
1. Broker having fixpack below 5 doesn't support multiple lines through MBFE.
2. The output message set doesn't have max records at -1.
3. The MBFE output node has the property "Disposition" set to "Replace".
Since the broker has fixpack 9, the first case is ruled out. Can you check the other 2. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Gralgrathor |
Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 297
|
I suspect that it might be
somsayan wrote: |
2. The output message set doesn't have max records at -1. |
What object contains this "max records" field? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|