Author |
Message
|
sumithar |
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:33 am Post subject: setstring or setint properties |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 13 Jun 2008 Posts: 47
|
In which COBOL Copybook would I find the equivalents of these?
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
What?  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sumithar |
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 13 Jun 2008 Posts: 47
|
Sorry- let me clarify.
When I use JMS or the Java MQI (with v7) I can set some message properties like
msg.setStringProperty(“Err_AppID”, “HEM”);
msg.setIntProperty(“Err_ErrID”, 2035);
I'm assuming I should be able to do the same with COBOL too, and took it for granted that there would be a copybook of some sort where these properties are made available.
Hence my question
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
sumithar wrote: |
I'm assuming I should be able to do the same with COBOL too, and took it for granted that there would be a copybook of some sort where these properties are made available. |
Java (and of course JMS) is an object oriented language. COBOL is procedural.
If you want to put user properties in the RFH2 header (what the JMS header is called by non-Java languages) you'll need to modify the header by hand.
But since you need to build the variable section of the RFH2 by hand anyway in COBOL, it's not more of a problem than the rest.
There is a copybook for the fixed part of the RFH2 you can use, as there is for the MQMD. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
sumithar wrote: |
I'm assuming I should be able to do the same with COBOL too |
Nope.
Those properties get stored in an MQRFH2 header.
This is ... complicated... at best to do from COBOL. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
This is ... complicated... at best to do from COBOL. |
I would have said not straightforward. Certainly not fun.
I may be biased by the pain I got from grinding my teeth last time I tried to build an RFH2 in COBOL. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sumithar |
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 13 Jun 2008 Posts: 47
|
Thanks all. Let me try to find that RFH2 copy book then. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
mqjeff wrote: |
sumithar wrote: |
I'm assuming I should be able to do the same with COBOL too |
Nope.
Those properties get stored in an MQRFH2 header.
This is ... complicated... at best to do from COBOL. |
I thought V7 gave you a way to do properties that did not involve an RFH?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
sumithar wrote: |
I'm assuming I should be able to do the same with COBOL too |
Nope.
Those properties get stored in an MQRFH2 header.
This is ... complicated... at best to do from COBOL. |
I thought V7 gave you a way to do properties that did not involve an RFH?  |
Ah, yes, that's true. And there should be "copybooks" that describe the necessary API calls. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|