Author |
Message
|
Sepoy |
Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:24 am Post subject: Use of DISPLAY command to get non-system objects |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Sep 2008 Posts: 3
|
I wish to see all non-system objects (for example LOCAL QUEUES) using DISPLAY command on AIX platform. Unfortunately MQ is not allowing me to use QUEUE as an attribute in the filter condition, because I guess, QUEUE is the name but not an attribute Here is the cmd (I have also tried different syntax using quotes etc, but no luck)
DIS QL(*) WHERE(QUEUE NE SYSTEM*)
Could any body have any idea as to how to exclude the objects that start with the name SYSTEM?
Thanks
Sepoy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Use the MS03 SupportPac with the -s switch to suppress SYSTEM objects, or do some clever scripting to filter the output. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Tibor |
Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 1:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 20 May 2001 Posts: 1033 Location: Hungary
|
It is untested but I think better the using of operator NL (=Not Like) than NE (=Not Equal):
DIS QLOCAL(*) WHERE(QUEUE NL 'SYSTEM*')
Hope this helps,
Tibor |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Tibor - the problem is that the "QUEUE" noun is not a valid "filter_keyword".
Quote: |
dis ql(*) where(queue nl 'SYS')
6 : dis ql(*) where(queue nl 'SYS')
AMQ8569: Error in filter specification
dis ql(*) where(queue
AMQ8427: Valid syntax for the MQSC command:
DISPLAY display_cmd
WHERE( filter_keyword operator filter_value )
operator := [ LT | GT | EQ | NE | LE | GE | CT | EX | LK | NL | CTG | EXG ] |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Tibor - the problem is that the "QUEUE" noun is not a valid "filter_keyword".
|
Correct, QUEUE is not listed in the MQSC manual as a parameter (aka Requested Attribute) for the DISPLAY QUEUE command.
Filtering on the queue object name is done using wildcards in the QUEUE() attribute. AFAIK, you can't negate the display of SYSTEM queues, unless all the other queues of interest have a common prefix eg. DIS Q(MYAPP*), and that's how I mostly use the command. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Tibor |
Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 20 May 2001 Posts: 1033 Location: Hungary
|
Guys, you are right, and as I mentioned I didn't try that command.
But this is a Unix box and if Sepoy likes shell scripts, I recommend this one:
echo "dis ql(*)" | runmqsc QMGRNAME | grep QUEUE | tr '()' ' ' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f3 -d' ' | cut -f2- -d'.' | grep -v ^SYSTEM | xargs -I %% echo "dis ql(%%)" | runmqsc QMGRNAME
Change QMGRNAME to a real queue manager name. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sepoy |
Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 8:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Sep 2008 Posts: 3
|
Thanks very much to all.
Service packs and scripts will do the work as suggested by my friends. My requirement is to use 'runmqsc' interactively to trouble shoot production problems with non-system objects. We are one of the big clients for IBM. I will definitely bring this up in our next meeting with them. Hopefully, they would include this facility in their next release.
Sepoy |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Sepoy wrote: |
Thanks very much to all.
Service packs and scripts will do the work as suggested by my friends. My requirement is to use 'runmqsc' interactively to trouble shoot production problems with non-system objects. We are one of the big clients for IBM. I will definitely bring this up in our next meeting with them. Hopefully, they would include this facility in their next release.
Sepoy |
How many non-system objects do you have? I've been trouble shooting production MQ problems for 10 years and this system object thing has never been an issue for me. What sort of troubleshooting with runmqsc were you hoping to do? _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|