|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Connection timeouts |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
JohnRodey |
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:39 am Post subject: Connection timeouts |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 103
|
I have some client that will connect to a MQ server on node A. If MQ is down on node A it realizes it immediately (throws exception because nobody is listening at the defined port) and connects itself to node B (the backup).
This logic works great if the MQ queue manager (software) is down. Although things behave differently if the network cable is unplugging or the actual machine is off. Now my client attempts to connect and waits for a few minutes prior to getting an exception. I would like to get the same functionality here where it times out immediately if the host is down.
I understand this is not so much an MQ client code question and not really even a question particular to MQ at all. But does anyone have any idea if there is a way to obtain this logic? Can I make network smarter and realize that a machine is offline, and thus the client return immediately. Or is there a way to create a very timeout?
Thanks for any help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JohnRodey |
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 103
|
Thanks Peter. Knowing that there is a timeout value can somewhat help the situation, at least it will reduce the impact. But the hard part is that we have experienced this problem with multiple vendors/technologies.
If a machine is unplugged the connect to WebLogic, http commands, messaging, etc... all behave like this. It would be great if there was a way to set up smarts in the network layer.
It's good to hear that this has come up before too, I'm curious to know how others have fixed it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JohnRodey |
Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 13 Apr 2005 Posts: 103
|
Do you know how to set this value (MQTCPTIMEOUT) to the Topic Connection Factory if you are using JMS. Or is this something that gets set on the channel?
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|