Author |
Message
|
aspre1b |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:47 am Post subject: MS03/SAVEQMGR NSK Tandem QMgr(HP Non-Stop Kernel)-SOLVED |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 78 Location: Coventry, UK
|
Hi Guys,
I've been scratching my head with this problem for a little while, and I've been going through all the posts relating to this problem but I still haven't got it working.
I'm trying to perform a SAVEQMGR on a tandem/NSK queue manager.
I would like to peform this either via a client connection from my laptop, or from an AIX server hosting multiply queue managers connecting to the queue manager on the tandem server.
I can connect to the tandem queue manager and AIX queue managers via MQExplorer.I don't have authority to create new channels on the Tandem QM, but I've tested connectivity using existing channels (creating only local queues and remote def's - both ways) to a AIX hosted queue manager.
When running SAVEQMGR from my local machine I get an 2317 error:
Code: |
saveqmgrc.exe -a 41.xx.18.9(14xx) -x srv.conn -m tandem.qm -F tandem.qm.txt -o -s
SAVEQMGR V6.0.2
Compiled for Websphere MQ V6.0 on Mar 2 2006
Using the server connection channel "xxxxxxxxxxxx"
on connection name "41.xx.18.9(14xx)".
Requesting attributes of the queue manager...
(mqutils.c) Received message is not of type MQADMIN (got )
(mqutils.c) MQGET failed for reply queue. MQCC=2 MQRC=2317
2317 0x0000090d MQRC_FORMAT_NOT_SUPPORTED |
But when using latest SAVEQMGR I get a 2232 error:
Code: |
saveqmgrc.exe -a 41.xx.18.9(14xx) -x svr.conn -m tandem.qm -F tandem.qm.txt -o -s
SAVEQMGR V6.1.0
Compiled for Websphere MQ V7.0 on Jul 24 2008
Using the server connection channel "svr.conn"
on connection name "41.xx.18.9(14xx)".
Requesting attributes of the queue manager...
(mqutils.c) MQGET failed for reply queue. MQCC=2 MQRC=2232
2232 0x000008b8 MQRC_UNIT_OF_WORK_NOT_STARTED |
This seems to point to a problem with SAVEQMGR not recognising the Tandem queue manager - according to Jeff Lowrey
(http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=43074&highlight=&sid=94a6429813260bf2648dd2736f3f9e09)
I tried to use SAVEQMGR with a local account of MQM.MANAGER (and lower case) but I got the same output.
So I tried to connect via an AIX hosted QMgr, but I get a timeout:
Code: |
saveqmgr.aix -m aix.qmgr -r tandem.qmgr -f ./Bren/xxxxxx_06012009.txt
SAVEQMGR V5.3.1a
Compiled for Websphere MQ V5.3 on Aug 5 2003
Requesting attributes of the queue manager...
No reply msg, make sure command server is started (strmqcsv qmgr-name). |
Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks
Bren
Tandem setup:
G06.29 and MQ v5.1
My local setup:
MQ6
AIX:
MQ5.3 CSD11
NB: LuisFer is providing me with the compiled version of MS03 to run locally on the Tandem server, although I would have preferred not to go this route as I am not a Tandem admin, and have only limited rights.
Last edited by aspre1b on Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:31 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Well, this is a fine pickle.
I'll put in some code to make a runtime as well as compile-time check to see if I can fix the issue with the 2232 from the client. If you don't mind, I would appreciate your assistance in testing this.... Please contact me by email at the address in the MS03 documentation.
And you should try the 6.1.0 version of saveqmgr.aix, that may fix the no reply message error. Or it may be that the remote command server is not using SYSTEM.ADMIN.COMMAND.QUEUE as it's command server input queue, and thus not creating a reply message. Have the NSK admins look for messages on the DLQ. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Okay, there is a relatively painless patch to do something better with MQRC_UNIT_OF_WORK_NOT_STARTED.
Still hoping you'll be willing to help me test it, though. Or maybe LuisFer will.
Last edited by mqjeff on Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:33 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aspre1b |
Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 78 Location: Coventry, UK
|
I am more than happy to test a modified version of the client. I'll also see about running 6.1.0 version of saveqmgr.aix.
I'll PM you my email address for further testing. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aspre1b |
Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 78 Location: Coventry, UK
|
I have tested the pre-release version of MS03 6.1.1 which Jeff Lowrey has provided.
SAVEQMGR now works against the Tandem MQ v5.1 queue manager.
Thanks for your help Jeff, your a superstar! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hankknowles |
Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 114
|
aspre1b wrote: |
I have tested the pre-release version of MS03 6.1.1 which Jeff Lowrey has provided.
SAVEQMGR now works against the Tandem MQ v5.1 queue manager.
Thanks for your help Jeff, your a superstar! |
aspre1b
I wonder why you would be doing so much with a non-supported version of MQ on the NSK? The current version is V5.3.1.4patch1 and it is way better with system resources! But if funding is the issue then I understand!
rEGARDS, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aspre1b |
Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 05 Jul 2007 Posts: 78 Location: Coventry, UK
|
We are upgrading the NSK infrastructure to v5.3, but we wish to create new queue managers as opposed to simply upgrading them. Hence why I require a saveqmgr.
To be honest, I hadn't even heard about Tandem and NSK until about 3 weeks ago, I'm a broker developer by trade. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hankknowles |
Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 114
|
aspre1b wrote: |
We are upgrading the NSK infrastructure to v5.3, but we wish to create new queue managers as opposed to simply upgrading them. Hence why I require a saveqmgr.
To be honest, I hadn't even heard about Tandem and NSK until about 3 weeks ago, I'm a broker developer by trade. |
aspre1b
That is the way we went but I had build scripts from the V5.1 QManagers so it was simply a matter of editing the parms and running the build in OSS.
Good Luck!  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|