Author |
Message
|
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:51 am Post subject: how to move 1 msg from DLQ to Q1 |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Good morning.
First of all, let me say we have read chapter 12 of SysAdmin Guide
(WMQ DLQ handler) and we just dont like it.
We want a tool that takes one message from Dead Letter Queue
and moves it to a specified local queue, say "Q1",
removing DLQH, of course.
Does such a tool exist, my coleagues ?
Thanks a lot. Seb. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HubertKleinmanns |
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:03 am Post subject: Re: how to move 1 msg from DLQ to Q1 |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 24 Feb 2004 Posts: 732 Location: Germany
|
sebastia wrote: |
Good morning.
First of all, let me say we have read chapter 12 of SysAdmin Guide
(WMQ DLQ handler) and we just dont like it.
We want a tool that takes one message from Dead Letter Queue
and moves it to a specified local queue, say "Q1",
removing DLQH, of course.
Does such a tool exist, my coleagues ?
Thanks a lot. Seb. |
: The WMQ DLQ handler
1. If you want to move all messages:
Specify a rule file (let's say rules.dlq) which contains the following lines
Code: |
inputqm(’ ’) inputq(’ ’)
wait (no)
action(fwd) fwdq(Q1) header(no) |
Then run the following command (Unix sample)
Code: |
runmqdlq < rules.dlq |
2. If you want to move one single message:
MQMON (SupportPac MO71) _________________ Regards
Hubert |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
Hubert - I have to agree : I needed a teacher.
THANK YOU VERY MUCH !
We shall have a look (also) at MO71 ... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Depends on what you want to do. I find it easier to remove the DLQ header using IH03 (RFHUTIL(C) ). Haven't removed it yet with MO71...
Just have a look at the tools and decide which one works best for you. I usually work with a combination of tools (including the DLQ handler).
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
mr Saper - I have used RFHutil a lot of times
usualy to "save" a sample message to a file (and sometimes back)
but I dont know how to tell it to "remove DLQH" ...
Can you help a bit ?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 11:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
sebastia wrote: |
mr Saper - I have used RFHutil a lot of times
usualy to "save" a sample message to a file (and sometimes back)
but I dont know how to tell it to "remove DLQH" ...
Can you help a bit ?
Thanks. |
When you read / browse the message look at the last tab / panel (DLQH).
There should be a checkbox there asking you whether you want to keep the DLQ header or not. Check then the header section to make sure the values for the format change in consequence and write the message to a different queue.
Alternatively you can move (mo71) the message to an empty queue keeping the DLQH. You can then run the DLQ handler on this queue and redirect the message as necessary (retry / fwd header(no) ).
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
There are many tools that do this.
MA0T is really for testing, but you could use that too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastia |
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 1003
|
RFHUtil +
+ Read Queue + DLQ
+ uncheck "Include DLQH" on last Tab
+ Write Queue + Q1
and msg is on Q1, without DLQH
Thanks, mr Saper.
Now, let me try MA0T ... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
HubertKleinmanns |
Posted: Sun Oct 19, 2008 11:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Shaman
Joined: 24 Feb 2004 Posts: 732 Location: Germany
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Depends on what you want to do. I find it easier to remove the DLQ header using IH03 (RFHUTIL(C) ). Haven't removed it yet with MO71...
Just have a look at the tools and decide which one works best for you. I usually work with a combination of tools (including the DLQ handler).
Enjoy  |
For "normal" operation I would prefer the DLQ handler, because it runs on every platform (Unix, Windows. iSeries, z/OS, ...) in (nearly) the same manner. You can trigger it, automize it etc.
But if you want to handle DLQ messages manually - use what you like (or you already use for other tasks). _________________ Regards
Hubert |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|