|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Queues |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
solomon_13000 |
Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 7:12 am Post subject: Queues |
|
|
Master
Joined: 13 Jun 2008 Posts: 284
|
Suppose I have a local queue. Now is there a possibility to set this queue to hold only 100 messages and also allow the queue to dynamically increase it's size to hold another 30 more messages?. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 7:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Yes, it's possible.
Happy Reading, Thinking, Trying, Learning. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
You mean increase the MAXDEPTH from 100 to 130? Yes, it can be done dynamically using PCF command messages, runmqsc or any other MQ administration interface.
Generally the MAXDEPTH should be at least twice the maximum depth that would be encountered in normal operations, to allow for the occasional peak.
Unless the messages are very large, its quite normal to use the default MAXDEPTH 5000. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopsala |
Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:19 pm Post subject: Re: Queues |
|
|
 Guardian
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 960
|
solomon_13000 wrote: |
Suppose I have a local queue. Now is there a possibility to set this queue to hold only 100 messages and also allow the queue to dynamically increase it's size to hold another 30 more messages?. |
It seems that you are under the misconception that once you set maximum queue depth, it cannot be changed. The MAXDEPTH quality is an imposed limitation which has nothing to do with resources - all queues can, if harddrive space allows, hold millions of messages. The only question is how you want to limit it, according to your needs, not what the native limitation is. Queues are not defined to take up a constant amount of space, rather they decrease and increase in harddrive space as messages are put and get.
So, if you know you could have 100 messages waiting for service, set MAXDEPTH for 100, if there's a possibility for 130, set it to 130. And for God's sakes, don't start writing programs that check if it's full and increase it, then check if it's empty and decrease... There's just no need. Set MAXDEPTH once, and be done with it.
You should also look into maximum message size parameter; goes something like MAXMSGL or similar. Open queue properties and you'll see it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|