Author |
Message
|
RudeJude |
Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2002 12:30 pm Post subject: UPES and output containers |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 23 Location: Virginia
|
I have an automatic activity which is a UPES.
The activity has data default connector that moves the input to the
output container. When the UPES fires off and returns its response message it has blank outcontainer values by design. Does returning a blank outcontainer in the UPES overwrite the data default connector I implemented in the workflow? The reason I ask is that one of the values is used for a transitionm condition out of the activity and it currently does not work. Whats the precedence here between the data connector and the upes response?
Rude |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2002 12:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Last update to the container rules.... Therefore if from the upes you set the members, you are overriding the values from the data default connector. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RudeJude |
Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2002 1:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 23 Location: Virginia
|
What if I dont specify any value in the return ie. See bold below.
By not returning any program output data am I setting all values to blank by default? This would appear to be the case from my testing.
<?xml version="1.0" standalone="yes"?>
<!-- This document is generated by UPES Response class -->
<WfMessage>
<WfMessageHeader>
<ResponseRequired>No</ResponseRequired>
</WfMessageHeader>
<ActivityImplInvokeResponse>
<ActImplCorrelID>RUEAAAABADDBygAAAAAAAAAAAAAACAAAAAEAQYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIQQA
AAAEAMMHRAAAAAAAAAABF</ActImplCorrelID>
<ProgramRC>0</ProgramRC>
<ProgramOutputData></ProgramOutputData> </ActivityImplInvokeResponse>
</WfMessage> |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2002 1:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I think this is ecactly what you want to do... Not specify any value, therefore MQWF will not update the container.
Are you saying that this is currently what you are doing? Not specifying the container values in the XML message? In that case I don't see how MQWF would know what container memebers to update. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RudeJude |
Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2002 2:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 23 Location: Virginia
|
This is what I currently do and the out container values seem to
get overwritten or blanked out (at least from what I can tell).
When I copy in the UPES the input container values to the output container values and put them in my response message everything works fine. I dont know it seems weird and the documentation is not that great around the different scenarios you can get in with workflow.
Rude |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2002 3:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Rude:
I just ran a quick test and now I think I understand what is happening to you. When you get your ActivityImplInvoke message, there is a <ProgramOutputDataDefaults> section. You must copy these values to your reply message. Then overlay them with any values that are modified based on your application code.
Since our "MessageHandler" code (which we use for all UPES development) does this automatically, I was mistaken in my original reply to you. I was thinking of how it works for me, which is affected by the "MessageHandler".
Sorry about that. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RudeJude |
Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2002 5:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 23 Location: Virginia
|
Thanks John...
Your confirmation solidified what my testing had shown.
Rude |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|