Author |
Message
|
servi |
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:41 am Post subject: Bug in ESQL Editor with POSITION as field Name |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 Posts: 22 Location: Madrid, España
|
I have the MB Toolkit v6.1.0
(6.1.0.20071108_1112) and i have found that when I paste the string:
IF(OutputRoot.XML.POSITION <> '1')
in a ESQL file, the toolkit report an error:
"Paste did not complete normaly" Argument not valid.
If I type it directly in the ESQL editor then weird things happen too.
If I open a file with this code a "Unable to create this part due to an internal error. Reason for the failure: Argument not valid" then an error appears.
¿Can anyone check this in his Toolkit?
¿There is another way to reference a POSITION XML field?
Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
POSITION is the name of an ESQL function, so (as designed) it's complaining the function is missing it's arguements.
If you want to use a reserved word as a field name you'll need to put it in quotes. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:52 am Post subject: Re: Bug in ESQL Editor with POSITION as field Name |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
Code: |
IF(OutputRoot.XML.POSITION <> '1') |
First thing...
Is it correct IF statement ? _________________ Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
marcin.kasinski |
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 21 Dec 2004 Posts: 850 Location: Poland / Warsaw
|
Version: 6.0.2
Build id: 20061201_1308
Code below works.
Code: |
IF OutputRoot.XML.POSITION <> '1' THEN
SET Environment.a='a';
END IF; |
_________________ Marcin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 3:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
marcin.kasinski wrote: |
Code below works. |
Well trout me sideways, I am surprised!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Please don't use OutputRoot.XML
Or InputRoot.XML.
Especially in v6.1!
servi - please try restarting your toolkit with -clean and making sure that you are on the latest fixpack and iFix level of the Toolkit. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
servi |
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 Posts: 22 Location: Madrid, España
|
I tried paste the code:
IF OutputRoot.XMLNS.POSITION <> '1' THEN
SET Environment.a='a';
END IF;
and happened the same error:
"Paste" did not complete normaly.
Argument not valid
It's a toolkit error, it works fine on the Boker. And yes, I know POSITION is an ESQL function, like ROW, CARDINALITY and others; but only POSITION produce the error. It surprise me, because the manual says:
"you can use reserved keywords as names in a field reference." Why then this not reserved word fails? (I supose its a bug).
I'm downloading the lastest Fixpack (v6.1.0.1 ).Probably this version fix it.
Thanks your help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
XMLNSC is the preferred XML parser in v6.1 _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
This does sound like a bug, please raise a PMR... _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
servi |
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 11:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 Posts: 22 Location: Madrid, España
|
I've installed the last FixPack Toolkit v1.0.1.1 and now when I open the ESQL SET OutputRoot.XML.PARAM =
ROW('INTRO' AS IO,
'1' AS POSITION);
with the code it reports the next error:
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Argument not valid
at org.eclipse.swt.SWT.error(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.swt.SWT.error(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.swt.SWT.error(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.swt.custom.StyledText.setStyleRanges(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.swt.custom.StyledText.setStyleRanges(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.TextViewer.applyTextPresentation(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.TextViewer.changeTextPresentation(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.presentation.PresentationReconciler.applyTextRegionCollection(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.presentation.PresentationReconciler.processDamage(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.presentation.PresentationReconciler.access$3(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.presentation.PresentationReconciler$InternalListener.inputDocumentChanged(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.TextViewer.fireInputDocumentChanged(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.TextViewer.setDocument(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.source.SourceViewer.setDocument(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jface.text.source.SourceViewer.setDocument(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.texteditor.AbstractTextEditor.initializeSourceViewer(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.texteditor.AbstractTextEditor.createPartControl(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.texteditor.StatusTextEditor.createPartControl(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.texteditor.AbstractDecoratedTextEditor.createPartControl(Unknown Source)
at com.ibm.etools.mft.esql.editor.EsqlEditor.createPartControl(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.EditorReference.createPartHelper(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.EditorReference.createPart(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPartReference.getPart(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.EditorReference.getEditor(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPage.busyOpenEditorBatched(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPage.busyOpenEditor(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPage.access$10(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPage$9.run(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.swt.custom.BusyIndicator.showWhile(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPage.openEditor(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.actions.OpenWithMenu.openEditor(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.actions.OpenWithMenu.access$0(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.actions.OpenWithMenu$2.handleEvent(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.EventTable.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Widget.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.runDeferredEvents(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.readAndDispatch(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.Workbench.runEventLoop(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.Workbench.runUI(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.Workbench.createAndRunWorkbench(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.PlatformUI.createAndRunWorkbench(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.ide.IDEApplication.run(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.internal.runtime.PlatformActivator$1.run(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.runApplication(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.start(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main.invokeFramework(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main.basicRun(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main.run(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main.main(Unknown Source)
I have also restart the Toollkit with -clean option. Any idea?  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 4:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
mgk wrote: |
This does sound like a bug, please raise a PMR... |
_________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirankinnu |
Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Centurion
Joined: 12 Jun 2004 Posts: 128 Location: Chicago, IL
|
Hi Servi,
Did you figure out what the issue was. Even we are having the same issue. Please do let us know the solution.
Thank You,
Kiran |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
servi |
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 3:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 19 Mar 2008 Posts: 22 Location: Madrid, España
|
No, we have not yet fix the error, neither open a PMR. We have to work around with the Text Editor. If you find the answer please tell us. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mattynorm |
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 06 Jun 2003 Posts: 52
|
If you open the file in text editor, then change the reference to
OutputRoot.XML."POSITION" (or even better OutputRoot.XMLNSC."POSITION"), then save, you should be able to reopen the file with the ESQL editor.
I've had the same probelm with using Extract as a field name. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 8:06 am Post subject: Same for me |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
I got the XML Schema changed.
We changed POSITION to JOB_ROLE
Certainly a bug IMHO.
/S _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|