|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Toolkit Performance Part 2 |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
goffinf |
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 3:11 am Post subject: Toolkit Performance Part 2 |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 05 Nov 2005 Posts: 401
|
Version: WBIMB v6
Platform: XP (VMWare)
A while ago a posted about problems I was having with performance when working in the eclipse based toolkit, and in particular a lot of disk activity and 100% CPU usage. While I was doing some other work I made some further observations which may have a bearing on this and wanted to council the views of this forum (plus there is some new related questions .
So, what I found was that in the workspace/.meta-data folder is a log file (called .log), and on my machine this had grown to 125MB. Every time the toolkit is launched about 750K of new information was added to the log. This perhaps explains some of the symptoms I was seeing.
So what is all this 750K's worth of log info ... well it was almost exclusively information about which 'plug-ins' the toolkit is choosing from the sometimes 6 or more versions installed. Here is an example exert chosen at random. There are hundreds of these :-
Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.0") was ignored because another version of the same plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.104") was picked
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.xtools.presentation 1 1 Apr 05, 2008 23:40:50.828
!MESSAGE This plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.0.1") was ignored because another version of the same plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.104") was picked
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.xtools.presentation 1 1 Apr 05, 2008 23:40:50.828
!MESSAGE This plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1") was ignored because another version of the same plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.104") was picked
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.xtools.presentation 1 1 Apr 05, 2008 23:40:50.828
!MESSAGE This plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.001") was ignored because another version of the same plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.104") was picked
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.xtools.presentation 1 1 Apr 05, 2008 23:40:50.828
!MESSAGE This plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.1") was ignored because another version of the same plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.104") was picked
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.xtools.presentation 1 1 Apr 05, 2008 23:40:50.828
!MESSAGE This plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.102") was ignored because another version of the same plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.104") was picked
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.xtools.presentation 1 1 Apr 05, 2008 23:40:50.828
!MESSAGE This plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.103") was ignored because another version of the same plug-in (located at "C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0\radrsm_shared\eclipse\plugins\com.ibm.xtools.presentation_6.0.1.104") was picked
Question: I assume that the reason why I have multiple versions is because of the toolkit upgrades/fix packs that have been applied (I think we went from 6.0.0 to 6.0.2, and more recently added cummulative fix-pack iFix011) ???
I removed all of the redundant versions and the log file size now only increases by 6K for each launch.
Question: I haven't seen any adverse impact to removing the plug-in folders that were not being used, do members think that it should be OK (I kept a back-up so I can go back if I need to) ?
I have only just started using this image again so I don't have any exhautive proof, but I haven't seen the problems I was previously getting (yet
Question: Is there another way of [selectively] surpressing entries written to this log file during toolkit launch ??
Finally onto to the remaining 6K log entries. I note these include TWO MISSING REQUIRED plug-in (which aren't on the machine as far as I can tell - but one with a version number suffix is), and a bunch of MISSING OPTIONALs, See below :-
Questions: Can anyone advise on the missing REQUIRED plug-ins please ?
Command-line arguments: -plugincustomization C:\Program Files\IBM\MessageBrokersToolkit\6.0/eclipse/plugins/com.ibm.etools.msgbroker.tooling_6.0.2/plugin_customization.ini
!ENTRY org.eclipse.pde.core 2 1 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Problems encountered while PDE was scanning the Target Platform
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.msg.trace.eclipse 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
MISSING REQUIRED :-
!MESSAGE Missing required plug-in org.eclipse.hyades.logging.core
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.msg.trace.eclipse 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing required plug-in org.eclipse.hyades.logging.java14
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v51 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
Rest are OPTIONAL :-
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v51_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v51 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v51_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v51 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v51_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v51 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v51_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v51 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v51_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v51 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v51_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v51 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v51_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v5 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v5_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v5 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v5_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v5 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v5_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v5 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v5_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v5 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v5_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v5 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v5_0.0.0
!SUBENTRY 1 com.ibm.etools.websphere.tools.v5 2 2 Apr 06, 2008 16:50:23.828
!MESSAGE Missing optionally required plug-in com.ibm.websphere.ee.v5_0.0.0
Thanks
Fraser. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JLRowe |
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 664 Location: South East London
|
No, no, no... don't delete 'old' plugins, other plugins may be dependent on older versions of a plugin.
How much time have you spent messing about with this, and how much time will you waste in the future when something doesn't work or some subtle build bug trashes your source files?
As you don't want to move off of vmware, then i'm afraid you're going to have to make do with poorer performance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fschofer |
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 02 Jul 2001 Posts: 524 Location: Mainz, Germany
|
Hi,
if you want to remove some old plugin versions you can the 'Clean Up' function of the Rational Product Updater.
But you can longer rollback to a older fixpack after this.
Frank |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 5:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Sometimes you can remove these messages about missing required/missing optional by using -clean.
Otherwise to everything else said...  _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|