ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Requirement to connect to multiple Queue Managers

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Requirement to connect to multiple Queue Managers « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
sayan
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:10 pm    Post subject: Requirement to connect to multiple Queue Managers Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 13

Hi,

In our production setup, we have one queue manager and the third party whom we have a connection with has 4 queue managers. The third party is embedding the names of the ReplyToQMgr and ReplyToQ fields of the MQMD structure. That means that while replying to their messages we have to read these two fields.

As far as my understanding, for this we will have different remote queue definitions for each of the 4 queues in the queue managers the third party has.

While programming, how should i use these two fields? Pls advise as I am new to this.
Do i have to open the Qmgr as specified in the MQMD structure or does MQ takes care of it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gaya3
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 2493
Location: Boston, US

through program

you have to connect, open and do operations with the queue manager.

you can access the MQMD structures from ur programme for sure.

Regards
Gayathri
_________________
Regards
Gayathri
-----------------------------------------------
Do Something Before you Die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sayan
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 13

Hi,

I am not sure, but wouldn't we be getting an error while opening up a remote queue manager?

The ReplyToQMgr has the name of the Queue Manager which is on some other server. Can we access/open a Queue manager which is not in the local server?

Pls correct me if I am wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gaya3
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 2493
Location: Boston, US

yes you can connect to a remote queue manager

you code has to be MQ client specific code then,

where you can connect with queue manager located remotely.

Refer MQ API reference and MQ Client PDF's for more information to build up

Regards
Gayathri
_________________
Regards
Gayathri
-----------------------------------------------
Do Something Before you Die
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

sayan wrote:
Hi,

I am not sure, but wouldn't we be getting an error while opening up a remote queue manager?

The ReplyToQMgr has the name of the Queue Manager which is on some other server. Can we access/open a Queue manager which is not in the local server?

Pls correct me if I am wrong.

Yes you can do that. You need however to make sure that there is a "default" path to the target qmgr. See intercommunications manual for more details (routing, multi-hopping and qmgr alias).

Enjoy
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zpat
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

Some people get confused here. The correct approach is NOT to connect directly to the remote queue managers from the MQ client application.

The MQ client does not need to know anything about these remote queue manager (indeed it must not to maintain abstraction).

What happens is that you connect to your local queue manager ONLY.

When you want to reply to a message you MQOPEN the relevant replytoqueuemanager and replytoqueuename based on the request message MQMD values (or default them if not present).

You can use the MQPUT1 operation to make life easier in the program as this will perform MQOPEN, MQPUT and MQCLOSE and is ideally suited to reply message processing (where the queue manager associated with the reply queue may vary).

When you open a queue with a queue manager that is not local, what happens is that you will be opening the transmit queue for that queue manager on your local queue manager.

The key thing to understand is that a queue manager name can be associated with a MQOPEN as well as a MQCONN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » Requirement to connect to multiple Queue Managers
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.