Author |
Message
|
Praveensc |
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:11 am Post subject: Browse option on Mainframe |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 27 Feb 2008 Posts: 23
|
Hi All,
I have a queue manager called QM1 on Mainframe. QM1 has a queue Q1. And Q1 have some messages in it. How can i browse the messages of Q1 in mainframe??
Could any one suggest me which utility will be helped in order to browse the queue contents on mainframe ???
Thanks,
Praveen |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:36 am Post subject: Re: Browse option on Mainframe |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Praveensc wrote: |
Could any one suggest me which utility will be helped in order to browse the queue contents on mainframe ???
|
The ISPF panel has some limited browsing facilities. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Praveensc |
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:43 am Post subject: Browse option on Mainframe |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 27 Feb 2008 Posts: 23
|
Could you explain step by step procedure for browsing through ISPF panels ?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:47 am Post subject: Re: Browse option on Mainframe |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Praveensc wrote: |
Could you explain step by step procedure for browsing through ISPF panels ?? |
Could you try reading the online help and prompts?
Hint - the "Messages" key shown on the bottom line might help..... _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 7:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
IBM Support Pac MA10 provides a 3270 MQ browse interface in ISPF.
It's quite good but it does not MQGET with MQGMO_CONVERT, so if you want to read messages that are stored in ASCII or Unicode then you can't make sense of them.
I wrote a REXX which browses a queue with MQGMO_CONVERT and places the messages into a dataset which is then browsed with ISPF.
If you have the client attach facility, there are many Windows programs which can browse mainframe queues. The convert problem then happens in reverse for EBCDIC messages! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
zpat wrote: |
The convert problem then happens in reverse for EBCDIC messages! |
It's not a problem... it's an opportunity to learn how to read bytecodes and perform mental conversions! _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Yes, although a few of the utilities do have a builtin EBCDIC message display feature for this reason (eg RFHUTILC support pac IH03).
Some also will BROWSE with CONVERT although I've never understood why they don't all have this option since it's so useful. I guess many developers don't have access to a mainframe or i-Series. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
phildooley |
Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 03 Mar 2008 Posts: 1 Location: Hartford, CT
|
I've never been an application programmer, but it was easy enough for me to figure out how to modify/compile/link the supplied cobol sample programs CSQ4BVJ1 (get) CSQ4BVK1 (put) programs for this. They can be found in library yourhlq.SCSQCOBS (yourhlq is SYS1 in our case). They are well documented. You'll have to figure out how to compile and link them after you modify them, and come up with JCL that works, everybody's shop is different for this. The key things are the parameters (again, well documented). You can use the get program as a browse or destructive read, so you do have to be careful. Here's some sample JCL (remember, it works here, it may(probably) will need to be modified to work in your shop.:
//GETMSGS EXEC PGM=CSQ4BVJ1,REGION=1024K,
// PARM=('qmgr,queue,nummsgs,D,N')
//STEPLIB DD DSN=library.you.linked.to,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYS1.SCSQANLE,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYS1.SCSQAUTH,DISP=SHR
//SYSDBOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSABOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=* |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MucheIsMyHero |
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 29 Jun 2005 Posts: 14
|
Some good suggestions here already I'd add the M071 support pac as another option. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
MucheIsMyHero wrote: |
Some good suggestions here already I'd add the M071 support pac as another option. |
This is only valid if you have a windows machine that you can run m071 on AND a) your MF has CAF, OR b) your Mainframe Qmgr allows mq administrative access through indirect channels. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Yes, I modified the IBM assembler sample CSQ4BAA1 to use MQGMO_CONVERT. Just add one line :
A R0,=A(MQGMO_CONVERT)
right after this line
A R0,=A(MQGMO_FAIL_IF_QUIESCING) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|