ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Deleting Work Item from Worklist

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Deleting Work Item from Worklist « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
faiiq
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:02 am    Post subject: Deleting Work Item from Worklist Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Location: Pakistan

I'm using MQ Workflow Client 3.5. I have a worklist in FMCGRP and there are many Work Items in that list. Most of these items are too old that I don't want them now or they are in error condition etc. Now I want to clear the worklist of all items but can't seem to find any way.

At least I couldn't find such way in Workflow Client despite looking through all the documentation I had. The closest thing I could find was the delete() API call for the work item, but I'm sure there must way other than coding. I'm new to MQ Series so its possible I'm skipping some vital things. I've also gone through this forum but couldn't find anything saving me. [though there were few posts telling that Fat client may do the job but I don't really know how to invoke fat client :s]

I'll appreciate if anyone tells me how to clear a worklist of all items, or at least a way to delete items one by one.


Regards,
Faisal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
faiiq
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Location: Pakistan

I just found out that if I take ownership and Force Finish a work item its automatically deleted by cleanup server probably. But that doesn't seem the best solution of I have more than a thousand work items. Also if the state of a work item is CheckedOut I can't take ownership of it, and can't Force Finish [Get FMC_API_ERROR_WRONG_STATE error message].

So the problem still remains. Any solution anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Firstly, you should figure out why you have these old workitems that are in the IN ERROR state. Hopefully, we are talking about a development and not a production system.

The best way to do this is to write a simple utility that will retrieve the workitems based on your filter criteria, then ASSUMING you really want to get rid of them all, you can First do a CancelCheckout on items in a CHECKEDOUT state, and the ForceFinish those, and you can ForceFinish any that are in a ready state.

Be AWARE that IF this is a production system, you are going to possibly pull the rug out from under any users currently working on the system.

One other thing 3.5 is out of support, you should upgrade.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
faiiq
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Location: Pakistan

yeah that is a development server, and those "InError" items are the one which went into error but we didn't Force Restart/Start them. And the reason I'm deleting everything is to make the system ready for production

So basically I have to write a utility to achieve the desired result [delete all], and this cannot be achieved through some existing client interface. Thanks a lot for your help. I'll do it and (possibly) come here again in case of any other problem This forum sure is a nice place to get some help regarding MQ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
faiiq
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Location: Pakistan

Another problem here...
I was coding for the utility to delete work items in java. I was getting an exception at agent.setConfigurationID/agent.setName

Here is some of the code


String agentName = "MQWFAGENT";
String configID = "FMC";

Agent agent = new Agent();
agent.setLocator(Agent.LOC_LOCATOR);
agent.setConfigurationID(configID);
agent.setName(agentName);


for this code i'm getting the following exception

java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.ibm.workflow.catalog.FmcProfile.loadProfile(FmcProfile.java:101)
at com.ibm.workflow.catalog.FmcProfile.CreateInstance(FmcProfile.java:64)
at com.ibm.workflow.catalog.FmcProfile.GetInstance(FmcProfile.java:398)
at com.ibm.workflow.api.Agent.setConfigurationID(Agent.java:252)
at HelloApplication.main(HelloApplication.java:80)



If i comment out agent.setConfiguration, i get an exception in agent.setName



java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.ibm.workflow.catalog.FmcProfile.loadProfile(FmcProfile.java:101)
at com.ibm.workflow.catalog.FmcProfile.CreateInstance(FmcProfile.java:64)
at com.ibm.workflow.catalog.FmcProfile.GetInstance(FmcProfile.java:398)
at com.ibm.workflow.api.Agent$LocLocator.locate(Agent.java:62)
at com.ibm.workflow.api.Agent.setName(Agent.java:200)
at HelloApplication.main(HelloApplication.java:81)

Agent Name [MQWFAGENT] and ConfigurationID [FMC] are correct and being used in another project which is working perfectly fine.

I'm using fmcjapi.jar file in my project. Also JRE version is 1.4 at the moment [yeah i know its pretty old ] but I don't think that would be the reason. Someone help me plz...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hos
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 03 Feb 2002
Posts: 470

If you want to get rid of your workitems fast and efficient, terminate and delete all related process instances.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Now that I know exactly what you are doing, I would say you should use Volker's suggestion, to delete all the instances... OR MAYBE, simply remove the configuratin and then build a new one... This way you will start with a brand new runtime DB. You probably want to do an EXPORT ALL of your BTDB prior to removing the configuration.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
faiiq
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Location: Pakistan

Thanks a lot guys for your support. Seems like my issue is solved with the help of above two replies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Deleting Work Item from Worklist
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.