Author |
Message
|
stev1ef |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:11 am Post subject: how can I troubleshoot this db incomatibility error? |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 09 Jan 2008 Posts: 13
|
how can I troubleshoot this db incomatibility error?
Error: frmMain.mctOrders_DataIn;Processing Trade;3265 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
By reading the code, and capturing more information about errors, and troubleshooting the database side and otherwise working the problem. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stev1ef |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 09 Jan 2008 Posts: 13
|
what amazing insight
I know this to be some sort of db incompatibility issue but am not an experienced developer in MQ and do not know how to effectively read the code or capture more information about the error.
I think all you have done here is sagly defined troubleshoot for me -
Now if anyone has any constructive answers to my innocent query... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
Personally, I'd like some more information about this error. The message that you have shows me absolutely nothing that is related to WebSphere MQ. How about a little context? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
stev1ef wrote: |
what amazing insight |
What amazing sarcasm (I speak as an expert)
stev1ef wrote: |
I know this to be some sort of db incompatibility issue but am not an experienced developer in MQ and do not know how to effectively read the code or capture more information about the error. |
How do you know this? There's nothing in the ridiculously small amount of information you've provided to indicate that to me. The code (by which I take to mean 3265) is not an obviously MQ code (which are typically 2nnn) and the line looks more like a VB6 application form having a nightmare to me. Where's the MQ in all this? Where's the database? What's the application?
stev1ef wrote: |
I think all you have done here is sagly defined troubleshoot for me - |
Given the information you've provided the definition might assist you. One line of obscure error will not get you very far.
stev1ef wrote: |
Now if anyone has any constructive answers to my innocent query... |
Yes - work through the problem, get some decent diagnostic or at least provide some context from which we can extrapolate the problem! You don't mention:
- application type
- database type
- MQ version
- platform(s)
- Usage
- when the error occurs _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stev1ef |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 09 Jan 2008 Posts: 13
|
Many apologies - I thought it a standard error code that would have some sort of resolution procedure.
Unfortunately it's my first day with MQ so am trying to get to grips wiith it.
The error occurs in the MQSender that receives messages from broadcaster and writes them to application DB, then reads data from application DB and sends them over to MQ series.
The problem appears in part that receives messages from broadcaster and writes them to application DB
As said I don't really understand it myself hence the thread. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Right, but. It's not a useful error message to anyone other than the person who wrote the code.
So.... we can't help other than generally. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stev1ef |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 09 Jan 2008 Posts: 13
|
I was under the impression that this was a MQSeries error message - is this then incorrect? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
stev1ef wrote: |
Unfortunately it's my first day with MQ so am trying to get to grips wiith it.
|
There's nothing in that message to indicate even the presence of MQ. Or a database.
So there's nothing we can really tell you. Unless you at least provide the details I asked for (like what causes the error!) _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Without a trace of sarcasm try this:
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22295
It's a great way of getting to grips with a problem in an unfamilar system. Also a valid checklist for those of us more experienced.
Especially useful is the suggstions of what to include in any posting. A lot of times obtaining this information leads to the problem..... _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
stev1ef wrote: |
I was under the impression that this was a MQSeries error message - is this then incorrect? |
It's not an MQSeries error message.
It's not an error message from any database system that I'm aware of.
it's not an error from any program, technology, or process that I'm aware of.
It looks entirely and specifically like an error message being produced by the application itself, that is only as meaningful as the developer decided it should be.
MQ error messages come in a couple of different forms... you can find almost all of them listed here:
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv6/v6r0/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.mq.amqzao.doc/amqzao05.htm _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stev1ef |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 09 Jan 2008 Posts: 13
|
- application type - CrossifreFX - independant trading application
- database type - Crossview MSSQL2000 SPk4
- MQ version - 5.3 CSD004 - Yes I know it's old and unfortunately it sits on a client site so I can only advise, if they don't upgrade then I need to resolve the issue if poss.
- platform(s) - win2003
- Usage - If you refer to cpu stats etc - all lie within relevant boundries. The MQSeries software runs all day and is restarted at midnight.
- when the error occurs - sporadically
Thank you - I pride myself on my sarcasm also. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stev1ef |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 09 Jan 2008 Posts: 13
|
Thanks for the link Jeffory now we're cooking.
Looks like I may have had the pleasure of beig fed some bullsh*t from an irate customer IT dept then...
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
So you need to look up the error message in the Crossfire application documentation, and find out if it's giving you information about an MQ error, or a database error, or something else entirely.
Or you can take the brute force approach, and turn on full database tracing/logging and full mq tracing/logging, and wait for the error to re-occur and then wade through the traces/logs and see if the database or MQ reports an error, and then troubleshoot that. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
stev1ef wrote: |
- application type - CrossifreFX - independant trading application |
Written in.....? C, VB6, Java, what? I'm guessing Java from where you've posted this.
stev1ef wrote: |
- Usage - If you refer to cpu stats etc - all lie within relevant boundries. The MQSeries software runs all day and is restarted at midnight. |
I was thinking more in terms of what the application uses MQ and the database for. If it was just looping you'd probably have noticed.
stev1ef wrote: |
- when the error occurs - sporadically |
This will make it hard to trace. If you can't determine the circumstances under which it happens, problem resolution is difficult.
stev1ef wrote: |
Thank you - I pride myself on my sarcasm also. |
You're a talented amature. Let me know when you're ready for the big leagues. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|