Author |
Message
|
jade2814 |
Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:24 pm Post subject: Deployment using MQ without installing MQClient/Server |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 Posts: 7 Location: Philippines
|
Hi,
I wish you people can help me out this is my scenario.
I already created a project DLL using VB6 and IBM MQSeries Automation Classes for Active X class mqax200 as reference. It is running fine with the MQClient is installed.
I was wondering if the Installation of MQClient is required on any computer in order to run my program. Can I just reference some dll or libraries without installing the actual MQClient itself. Im trying to run it on a pc with MS 2003 server.
Thanks,
jade2814
Last edited by jade2814 on Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:33 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jade2814 |
Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 10:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 Posts: 7 Location: Philippines
|
I tried again by registering my project dll and mqax200.dll with a computer that doesn't have an MQClient or Server installed and this is the error that I got.
CompletionCode 2 ReasonCode 6000 Reason: MQRC_LIBRARY_LOAD_ERROR
Does anyone here know if what mqax200.dll prerequisites (support dll or libraries) are? In order for me to make this work. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
It requires a full client install to work. Remember that client is not subject to a license charge so there's no cost implication. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
VB6 is out of support. The ActiveX components of the MQ API are deprecated.
If you use .NET, you can code your application to use a managed connection, and bind it against a single DLL and package your application with that dll.
And then your app will run anywhere.
Managed connections are more limited than regular connections.
It's always better to run an MQ app on a machine with a full client install, though. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jade2814 |
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 Posts: 7 Location: Philippines
|
How about distribution components such that I don't have to install mq client installation. I have heard a java application doing that. So could it still be possible for microsoft users even a vb6 program to do it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
jade2814 wrote: |
I have heard a java application doing that. |
I'm told it's possible to get an MQ Java program running with just some of the MQ Client jar files. That doesn't make it a good thing to do, nor does it make it an IBM supported configuration. This of course only becomes relevant when something goes wrong.
It may be possible to get something working. It's also possible to get a pedal cycle to do 50 mph by strapping an engine to it. That doesn't make it a good idea, and could be dangerous when you hit the first bump in the road! You're much better off doing 50 mph on a motorbike.
And in this instance the motorbike is free to download!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jade2814 |
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 05 Sep 2007 Posts: 7 Location: Philippines
|
How about distribution components such that I don't have to install mq client installation. I have heard a java application doing that. So could it still be possible for microsoft users even a vb6 program to do it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 3:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
You repeat the question, I'll repeat the answer!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ashoon |
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 26 Oct 2004 Posts: 235
|
I think the problem comes from when you need to distribute the application across multiple desktops... why ship 300+ MB install files to every desktop for MQ Client *if* you can ship only the required library components???
The question then becomes which components are really needed?
jade2814 wrote: |
How about distribution components such that I don't have to install mq client installation. I have heard a java application doing that. So could it still be possible for microsoft users even a vb6 program to do it. |
_________________ IBM Certified - SOA Solution Designer & WebSphere Datapower SOA Appliances |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
It's very very simple.
It's useless to deploy an application across 300 machines, if those 300 machines are going to be in an unsupported configuration!
It's a very bad idea to try and manage 300 desktops without software provisioning tools. You're wasting your time, your company's time, and your company's money.
If you have software provisioning tools, then it shouldn't matter how many files you have to distribute across 300 desktops!
And I have already specifically addressed how to package a Microsoft application that does not require the full MQ Client Install.
And it's still a better and more manageable thing to perform the full MQ Client install!
That way you always know what version of MQ that your applications are using!
And, again! for jad2814!
VB6 is unsupported! By everyone, including Microsoft! Use .NET! _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
ashoon wrote: |
The question then becomes which components are really needed? |
No, the question is what are you going to do when you hit a problem & need help from IBM. Yes, you're installing the client on each desktop (and it wasn't 300Mb last time I saw it) but you need to weigh the one time cost of doing this against the benefit of a supported configuration. Especially as neither disk space nor bandwidth is an expensive commodity.
This of course presupposes that it's an internal application. If you're producing an application for sale then you simply include the MQ Client as a prerequisite in the same way you'd include a database client as a prereq.
But that's just me. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|