ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » How to get Global container values using MQ WF

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 How to get Global container values using MQ WF « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
hifive
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:58 am    Post subject: How to get Global container values using MQ WF Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 52

I have an auto activity, which has to read the global container value . How to achieve this?
Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

You access the global container using the container api.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
hifive
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 52

Container will help me to read container Members, but actually I want to read Global Container member associated for the current processinstance from which i have written an auto activity code.

Scenerio : Auto Activity "A" has to to check if their is any process running for the policy Number supplied .

I have planned this option , plz correct if i am wrong
Agent ...
ExecutionAgent pea= agent.getExecutionAgent()
ProcessInstance pi=null
pi.setName (pea.processContext())
ReadwriteContainer rc=pi.getGlobalContainer()
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

I have to say you have me thoroughly confused. You say its an auto activity, but you are using a PEA... So this is NOT a Upes activity, it is a program activity which runs a program using the fat client.

If this is correct, there is still no problem.

Use passthrough to get access to an Execution Service.

Then from the process instance you can retrieve the Global Container, and access using the container api
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
hifive
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 52

[quote="jmac"]I have to say you have me thoroughly confused. You say its an auto activity, but you are using a PEA... So this is NOT a Upes activity, it is a program activity which runs a program using the fat client.

If this is correct, there is still no problem.

Use passthrough to get access to an Execution Service.

Then from the process instance you can retrieve the Global Container, and access using the container api[/quote]

Auto activity = NON UPES Program
When i use this logic
agent.setConfigurationID("FMC");
agent.setName("MQWFAGENT");
ExecutionService service = agent.locate("", "");
System.out.println("Connected.");
ExecutionAgent pea = agent.getExecutionAgent().;
service.passthrough();

Error : Program Executuin agent not running...


I am using both service and pea ..
Service object is used for accessing globalContainer method
pea to read the incontainer values...


Request ur help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

The only time you would use an ExecutionAgent, is if you are running a fat client program activity.

If you do have a UPES activity, you need to do a logon to MQWF, then access the parent Process Instance for the activity, and then use the container API to read the contents of the global container.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
hifive
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 52

[quote="jmac"]The only time you would use an ExecutionAgent, is if you are running a fat client program activity.

If you do have a UPES activity, you need to do a logon to MQWF, then access the parent Process Instance for the activity, and then use the container API to read the contents of the global container.[/quote]

SO i understand, their is no way using an NOn upes auto activity to read the global container values ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

No, that's not what I said.

IF you are using a PEA (i.e fat client program activity) then once your activity has control, you use passthrough, to access the Execution Service, and you should be able to access the GDC, through the process instance.

If you are using a UPES, you logon to MQWF, access the Process Instance, and then you should be able to access the GDC.

Perhaps the misunderstanding is around your terminology.

What is a Non-UPES auto activity to you? The only thing I can see that being is a fat client program activity that runs automatically. Maybe if you explain what you are mean by this term I can figure out what you are trying to do.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
hifive
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 52

I am using PEA.

the code goes like this
Agent agent=new Agent();
agent.setConfigurationID("FMC");
agent.setName("MQWFAGENT");
ExecutionService service = agent.locate("", "");
System.out.println("Connected.");
ExecutionAgent pea = agent.getExecutionAgent().;
service.passthrough();

hope the above steps are correct ?

when i trace manuall,if i use agent.locate("", "") method, it shows an exception " Program Executuion Agent not running ..!"
Even I tried passing FMGRP and FMCSYS, but stil the same error
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Are you sure you have a PEA started for the user who is assigned to the automatic activity
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
hifive
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 52

Yes, I did try to comment agent.locate("",""), it works, when i uncomment it and try again, its says Program Execution agent not working.

If you have any working code, request if you can share the same.

Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Read the doc, or search the forum for starting the pea, it is a command you must run on the os.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » How to get Global container values using MQ WF
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.