|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Local queue to Start a .net application. |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
kannurkiran |
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:57 am Post subject: Local queue to Start a .net application. |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 11 Oct 2007 Posts: 7
|
Hi All,
Am an extreme Newbie to the MQ area.
Am in a process of developing an application that would do the following.
1. A message arrives on a Local queue.
2. When this message i would need to start a .net application which would process this message.
I could develop a window service to pool the queue every x mins (setting message expiry to > x mins) and in case a message arrives, process it.
but this seems to be very costly on the processor considering the number of jobs already running.
Second option was when i saw something called as trigger, in the Q properties (I use only the GUI :-)).
Searched many articles on this but none actually sufficed my requirement..
could some one pls let me know in detail, as to how i could trigger my .net application when a message arrives on this queue?
Thanks in advance for all the help(need it desperately and urgently) I could get from the experts out here ... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:34 am Post subject: Re: Local queue to Start a .net application. |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
kannurkiran wrote: |
could some one pls let me know in detail, as to how i could trigger my .net application when a message arrives on this queue?
|
Triggering (in terms of queue manager configuration and application programming requirements) are described, in detail, in the Application Programming Guide, Chapter 14, "Starting Websphere MQ Applications using triggers".
You're quite correct, this is much the better method than a polling application for your requirement the way you've described it. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kannurkiran |
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 4:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 11 Oct 2007 Posts: 7
|
Thanks vitor,
Just wondering how would this be done if the queue is an Alias queue that is hoisted by another queue manager at a different machine?
Not sure if I am making sense here :) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
kannurkiran wrote: |
Not sure if I am making sense here  |
No, not really.
You can't read and process a message held on a queue manager different to the one the application is connected to. Hence the MQ definition of "local" and "remote" refers to the connected queue manager. Your application could be running on a machine on the North Pole, connected to a queue manager running on the Moon and in MQ terms that queue manager would be "local" to your application.
Though I suspect there would be network issues, mostly latency.
Also an alias is not a real queue, and doesn't hold messages. The base queue it refers to could be set to be triggered and would be subject to the restrictions indicated.
Hope that helps. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Also, Alias queues do not have trigger properties. You can not configure a trigger on an alias queue - you can only configure it on the base queue the alias points to.
So, for example, if you have 3000 clients that need to be triggered, you can't use 3000 aliases, that point to the same local queue and configure a different trigger for each of them.
You could, however, configure the trigger on the base queue in such a way that would allow for 3000 trigger monitors on different client machines to do different things based on the same trigger message. How one would determine which message should trigger which client, on the other hand, is a much harder problem. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
As well when you need to trigger a program on a machine that does not have the qmgr installed you need to run a "client" trigger monitor on the machine running the triggered program.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|